We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get sea facing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get sea facing”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

No really negative comments on this hotel. Just that the room I had faced inland overlooking the carpark (and construction) which is not an issue if you are out every day. Close to the nearby Shopping area. Room was fine -had an issue with the safe that was resolved after much fiddling around, by replacing the entire unit. The swipe card for the lift seemed to work erratically (not just mine) and actually became a joke amongst lift users. The Butchers Block restaurant was a pleasant surprise, very reasonably priced, reasonably atmospheric as well. Car parking was an extra charge which I disagree with as a paying hotel guest. Very straight forward place to find for a driver new into Durban. Staff were friendly and resolved my laundry issue of being overcharged by dealing with the outsourcers. The pricing is in keeping with hotel scales. The room was very clean, great shower, just difficult to get the internal room temperature right as the room settings got changed every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieHotel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear CharlieHotel_13

Thank you for your review on our Hotel. Customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through constructive comments that we are able to strive to improve. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to you during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and we are very sorry that we didn’t meet our normal high standards of service in this instance.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Staff. Furthermore, thank you for the feedback regarding Butcher Block Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely restaurant on our doorstep for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    185
    84
    28
    13
See reviews for
86
97
17
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Recently we stay in this hotel for our Business trip and attending the INDABA 2013....and Fox we did not make any mistake to choose this location. Ocean front property up on the hill....Wow from Front Desk Manager Mr. Neil to Hotel GM was superb and very friendly staff. Their Bar lounge, Breakfast buffet is very good, Nice and clean room, close to Mega shopping Mall and in the mall so many restaurant and good stores. 5Star property and will recommend to any family/business traveler. Thanks to all the staff who makes our stay very comfortable. And we will be back again in Durban.......M Zaki

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear RZTravels,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback during your recent stay at our Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure meeting with you.

We are so thrilled that you enjoy all aspects of your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for Indaba 2014.

Warmest regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Good choice if you are in Durban on business. The highway and Umhlanga all close by. They do need to advise guests on using the key card to activate the lift and the room lights, especially for the non-seasoned travelers.

Room Tip: " Sea view " a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Leighanne D

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very fortunate to be situated in the Umhlanga area – close proximity to KingShaka International Airport, Gateway Theatre of Shopping, Umhlanga Beaches as well as the International Convention Centre.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent a family weekend there. I called ahead to arrange a late check in as we were 2 adults and I kid. The room that we had requested was taken and were allocated another room. I find the rooms very small. We had a great view of the Umhlanga beach. Breakfast was average. Front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear RiazM

Thank you for your review on our Hotel. We are very fortunate with our location in that we have the most amazing Sea View. I certainly do recommend all our guests to sign up to our Priority Club Rewards programme which does enable a later check out, depending on hotel occupancies at the time. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Front Office Team – we certainly do strive to provide excellent service and superior accommodation.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Nice, kids friendly. Very good view from room. Close to shopping centre.safe parking although you have to pay extra.
breakfast was ok. Not a lot of variety.
kids eat free.
Rooms are comfortable. Extra cot is available for free.
get the sea facing room

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear Rohith P,

Thank you for your favourable review of our Hotel. We are very pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable. We certainly do our utmost to ensure that families are comfortable during their stay with us. Furthermore, we definately are very fortunate to have one of the most spectacular ocean views from our Hotel.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Modern hotel on the ridge over looking the ocean, +- 400 m from Gateway shopping centre. The facilities were very good. I stayed for a week on business, the only disappointment was the limited, although adequate breakfast. The breakfast would not be an issue were a person only staying for a day or two. Very convenient location to the airport some 15 minutes away

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Riempie,

Many thanks for your recent review on our Hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your feedback is very important to us. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our convenient location as well as comfortable facilities. We know you have many choices when it comes to Lodging and we certainly hope that you will continue to make use of the Holiday Inn Express Brand.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I needed a last minute place to stay in Durban before flying to Port Elizabeth. Did I say I needed accommodations for five? The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, the rooms clean and comfortable, on site restaurant and longer at a fair price. It took us an easy 15 minutes max in the morning to get to the airport.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear sking81

Thank you for your extremely positive review of our Hotel in Umhlanga. We certainly are in a very fortunate position in that we are very close King Shaka International Airport, fantastic shopping centres as well as Umhlanga beaches. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staffing, location and cleanliness of the property. Furthermore we are very fortunate to have Butcher Block Restaurant available for our guests!

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing