We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine & had a nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spent three nights here for the recent Comrades marathon. No complaints really although too bad the wifi isn't free (you get a tiny amount of data per day to use). The restaurant (Butcher Block) is one of the best I've eaten in that's attached to a hotel so definitely try it out.

Staff were friendly & the location was handy for getting to Durban or to the beaches in Umhlanga. As mentioned by others, try and get a sea-facing room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Opus29,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. We do hope that you had a successful Comrades Marathon. We are pleased to advise you that our Free Internet has increased from 30MG to 100MG per day for in house guests. We do hope that you will sign up for our IHG Rewards Programme during your next stay with us. Thank you for your very favourable feedback on Butcher Block Restaurant, I will definately pass on your compliments to the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Warm regards, Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

No really negative comments on this hotel. Just that the room I had faced inland overlooking the carpark (and construction) which is not an issue if you are out every day. Close to the nearby Shopping area. Room was fine -had an issue with the safe that was resolved after much fiddling around, by replacing the entire unit. The swipe card for the lift seemed to work erratically (not just mine) and actually became a joke amongst lift users. The Butchers Block restaurant was a pleasant surprise, very reasonably priced, reasonably atmospheric as well. Car parking was an extra charge which I disagree with as a paying hotel guest. Very straight forward place to find for a driver new into Durban. Staff were friendly and resolved my laundry issue of being overcharged by dealing with the outsourcers. The pricing is in keeping with hotel scales. The room was very clean, great shower, just difficult to get the internal room temperature right as the room settings got changed every day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieHotel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear CharlieHotel_13

Thank you for your review on our Hotel. Customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through constructive comments that we are able to strive to improve. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to you during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and we are very sorry that we didn’t meet our normal high standards of service in this instance.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Staff. Furthermore, thank you for the feedback regarding Butcher Block Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely restaurant on our doorstep for our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Recently we stay in this hotel for our Business trip and attending the INDABA 2013....and Fox we did not make any mistake to choose this location. Ocean front property up on the hill....Wow from Front Desk Manager Mr. Neil to Hotel GM was superb and very friendly staff. Their Bar lounge, Breakfast buffet is very good, Nice and clean room, close to Mega shopping Mall and in the mall so many restaurant and good stores. 5Star property and will recommend to any family/business traveler. Thanks to all the staff who makes our stay very comfortable. And we will be back again in Durban.......M Zaki

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear RZTravels,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback during your recent stay at our Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure meeting with you.

We are so thrilled that you enjoy all aspects of your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for Indaba 2014.

Warmest regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Good choice if you are in Durban on business. The highway and Umhlanga all close by. They do need to advise guests on using the key card to activate the lift and the room lights, especially for the non-seasoned travelers.

Room Tip: " Sea view " a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighanneZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Leighanne D

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very fortunate to be situated in the Umhlanga area – close proximity to KingShaka International Airport, Gateway Theatre of Shopping, Umhlanga Beaches as well as the International Convention Centre.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent a family weekend there. I called ahead to arrange a late check in as we were 2 adults and I kid. The room that we had requested was taken and were allocated another room. I find the rooms very small. We had a great view of the Umhlanga beach. Breakfast was average. Front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear RiazM

Thank you for your review on our Hotel. We are very fortunate with our location in that we have the most amazing Sea View. I certainly do recommend all our guests to sign up to our Priority Club Rewards programme which does enable a later check out, depending on hotel occupancies at the time. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Front Office Team – we certainly do strive to provide excellent service and superior accommodation.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Nice, kids friendly. Very good view from room. Close to shopping centre.safe parking although you have to pay extra.
breakfast was ok. Not a lot of variety.
kids eat free.
Rooms are comfortable. Extra cot is available for free.
get the sea facing room

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Rohith P,

Thank you for your favourable review of our Hotel. We are very pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable. We certainly do our utmost to ensure that families are comfortable during their stay with us. Furthermore, we definately are very fortunate to have one of the most spectacular ocean views from our Hotel.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Modern hotel on the ridge over looking the ocean, +- 400 m from Gateway shopping centre. The facilities were very good. I stayed for a week on business, the only disappointment was the limited, although adequate breakfast. The breakfast would not be an issue were a person only staying for a day or two. Very convenient location to the airport some 15 minutes away

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Riempie,

Many thanks for your recent review on our Hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your feedback is very important to us. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our convenient location as well as comfortable facilities. We know you have many choices when it comes to Lodging and we certainly hope that you will continue to make use of the Holiday Inn Express Brand.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
710 reviews
1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing