We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vale and good location for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice recently. Its new and the location is excellent for anyone doing business in the Umhlanga area. It's an Express hotel so the furniture is basic but clean and comfortable. I ate at the restaurant next door , which was also very satisfactory. The sea facing bedrooms have great views. The staff are very friendly...I arrived for an early check in (without pre warning them) and they sorted out a room quickly.The offered me coffee in the lobby and once the room was ready they came to look for me in the lobby area to give me the key.
Check in and out very efficient.

Room Tip: Sea facing is best and high up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mr O'Leary,

We are so thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Warmest regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Holiday Inn with 2 kids. Wonderful experience and great service! Lovely views and staff went out of their way to accommodate all requests. Beds comfortable and rooms clean. Free breakfast was great and included sufficient choice for everyone in the family. Kids were delighted that the Disney channel was an option in the room (so many hotels just offer news, sports and mnet)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room when making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdlblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear JDLBIR,

Thank you so much for you fabulous feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so please that your entire family had a lovely stay with us. It's always so encouraging to receive such lovely feedback regarding our Hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family back at the Hotel or one of our Holiday Inn Express Brand Properties in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been in many holiday Inn around the world and this is one of the poorest. I had to change room as the bathroom was not workign and water was everywhere. Room and bathroom were not very clean.
Breakfast was ok.
Only positive is the nice view on the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Pereppo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apology due to the fact that you did not experience the normal high standard of our Hotel Product that we pride ourselves on. I am however pleased to read that you did enjoy our beautiful ocean views.

Kind regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed June 2013, just a late review.
I typically spend 200+ nights a year in hotels. Work-related. So I'm touchy on certain topics. Like cleanliness. And security.

This hotel was just... unbelieveable. Chosen by my client (15-day stay), so I didn't have much say - until I checked out. Which was day #2 (yes, out of 15). And nobody cared (no question "why", no refund, nothing). And that was just the cherry on the pie.

How bad can you go? Imagine:
When I checked in I got a semi-cleaned room. I mean, room itself was clean, but not the bathroom. And there was a pubic (?) hair in the tea mug (pic attached). That was close enough to make me puke. But OK, happens, "Just don't use their mugs or glasses or ...".
But worst thing happened later. I had a connecting room (why?) with some African-African gentlemen (is that the politically correct phrase in US? :)
Actually, they've had all the surrounding rooms. And they've had a party. Read: noises on the corridor until 4am. Multiple attempts to enter my room - both from corridor and from connecting rooms. I've called the reception twice - first time they've said "we'll investigate" (1am?), second time they weren't even there. NEVER AGAIN.
Checked out and went to Manaar House (TripAdvisor trick).

As for techicalia. Restaurant next door (meat only) is pretty good. I mean, service is so-so, but meat is great. Breakfast too crowded. Cleanliness lacking. Clientele - well, no. Just no.

Will never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Just avoid. Choose a B&B, personal touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear ISmackedTheLion,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel earlier this year. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. This is certainly not the normal high standards of service that we pride ourselves on. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express Brand for your future travel needs.

Yours sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have just spent a few nights at the Holiday Inn Express Umhlanga and although the hotel is situated away from the hub of restaurants etc it proved to be a good choice.
The staff were brilliant and check in / out were effortless.
Breakfast offered a good selection although I did miss the bacon but the mutton sausage was a good substitute.
The room was small but spotless, the bed was very comfortable and linen excellent.
There are coffee / tea facilities , small safe TV and free wi-fi in the room.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennkasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear glennkasner,

Many thanks for your extremely positive review of our Hotel. We are pleased to see that our facilities met with your travel requirements and certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Your feedback will definately be circulated to our Team.

Yours sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our room had a good view out towards the sea. The hotel is close to the shopping centre and entertainment area.

You can eat breakfast outside which was pleasant. Reasonable choice of breakfast.

Easy free car parking at the front and rear of the hotel. It is a little confusing working out how to get into the hotel.

Overall it is a nice hotel. The only downside is you don't get any recognition for having status with IHG. You don't even get more than the 1 hour of internet access that everyone receives even though it is a published benefit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Deedazza,

We are so thrilled that you were able to make use of our lovely Restaurant balcony area which overlooks the ocean to enjoy your breakfast during your stay with us. We are extremely fortunate to be in such an ideal location which is close to the ocean, shopping centres and King Shaka International Airport. We certainly do value our IHG Rewards members and do hope that you will continue to make us of the Express Brand for your future travels. A fantastic benefit of our IHG Rewards Programme is that member’s points don't expire. Happy Travels.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

this is an absolutely beautiful hotel, located in a beautiful area as well (Umhlanga), we love the way this hotel overlooks the sea, its a fantastic scene. We have only been as far as the reception but the reception itself stands out and the staff is very friendly too. Perfect package, recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear First Zulu Safa

Thank you for your extremely favourable review of our hotel. We are indeed fortunate to have the most spectacular ocean views and warm and welcoming staff at the Hotel. We certainly do hope that you will continue to enjoy Hotels within the IHG Brand.

Kind regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £63 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing