We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
johannesburg
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Comfortable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here from 24-26 December. We enjoyed it. The staff were friendly on checkin. Breakfast staff were quiet efficient in allocating tables quickly to guests even though it was full. well done. My room was big, spacious and just like any other holiday inn express room you would find in south Africa but with a fantastic view. Thanks also to the general manager for my requests being met. I like that fact that this hotel has a lot of parking available even when the hotel is full. I recommend Holiday Inn express umhlanga.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your favourable review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Your positive feedback is appreciated and will be shared with all staff. We certainly are fortunate to have the most spectacular ocean view from our Hotel.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Umhlanga in the near future.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    182
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
82
94
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice recently. Its new and the location is excellent for anyone doing business in the Umhlanga area. It's an Express hotel so the furniture is basic but clean and comfortable. I ate at the restaurant next door , which was also very satisfactory. The sea facing bedrooms have great views. The staff are very friendly...I arrived for an early check in (without pre warning them) and they sorted out a room quickly.The offered me coffee in the lobby and once the room was ready they came to look for me in the lobby area to give me the key.
Check in and out very efficient.

Room Tip: Sea facing is best and high up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Mr O'Leary,

We are so thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Warmest regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Holiday Inn with 2 kids. Wonderful experience and great service! Lovely views and staff went out of their way to accommodate all requests. Beds comfortable and rooms clean. Free breakfast was great and included sufficient choice for everyone in the family. Kids were delighted that the Disney channel was an option in the room (so many hotels just offer news, sports and mnet)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room when making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdlblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear JDLBIR,

Thank you so much for you fabulous feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so please that your entire family had a lovely stay with us. It's always so encouraging to receive such lovely feedback regarding our Hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family back at the Hotel or one of our Holiday Inn Express Brand Properties in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been in many holiday Inn around the world and this is one of the poorest. I had to change room as the bathroom was not workign and water was everywhere. Room and bathroom were not very clean.
Breakfast was ok.
Only positive is the nice view on the sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Pereppo,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apology due to the fact that you did not experience the normal high standard of our Hotel Product that we pride ourselves on. I am however pleased to read that you did enjoy our beautiful ocean views.

Kind regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed June 2013, just a late review.
I typically spend 200+ nights a year in hotels. Work-related. So I'm touchy on certain topics. Like cleanliness. And security.

This hotel was just... unbelieveable. Chosen by my client (15-day stay), so I didn't have much say - until I checked out. Which was day #2 (yes, out of 15). And nobody cared (no question "why", no refund, nothing). And that was just the cherry on the pie.

How bad can you go? Imagine:
When I checked in I got a semi-cleaned room. I mean, room itself was clean, but not the bathroom. And there was a pubic (?) hair in the tea mug (pic attached). That was close enough to make me puke. But OK, happens, "Just don't use their mugs or glasses or ...".
But worst thing happened later. I had a connecting room (why?) with some African-African gentlemen (is that the politically correct phrase in US? :)
Actually, they've had all the surrounding rooms. And they've had a party. Read: noises on the corridor until 4am. Multiple attempts to enter my room - both from corridor and from connecting rooms. I've called the reception twice - first time they've said "we'll investigate" (1am?), second time they weren't even there. NEVER AGAIN.
Checked out and went to Manaar House (TripAdvisor trick).

As for techicalia. Restaurant next door (meat only) is pretty good. I mean, service is so-so, but meat is great. Breakfast too crowded. Cleanliness lacking. Clientele - well, no. Just no.

Will never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Just avoid. Choose a B&B, personal touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear ISmackedTheLion,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel earlier this year. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. This is certainly not the normal high standards of service that we pride ourselves on. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express Brand for your future travel needs.

Yours sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have just spent a few nights at the Holiday Inn Express Umhlanga and although the hotel is situated away from the hub of restaurants etc it proved to be a good choice.
The staff were brilliant and check in / out were effortless.
Breakfast offered a good selection although I did miss the bacon but the mutton sausage was a good substitute.
The room was small but spotless, the bed was very comfortable and linen excellent.
There are coffee / tea facilities , small safe TV and free wi-fi in the room.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennkasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear glennkasner,

Many thanks for your extremely positive review of our Hotel. We are pleased to see that our facilities met with your travel requirements and certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Your feedback will definately be circulated to our Team.

Yours sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our room had a good view out towards the sea. The hotel is close to the shopping centre and entertainment area.

You can eat breakfast outside which was pleasant. Reasonable choice of breakfast.

Easy free car parking at the front and rear of the hotel. It is a little confusing working out how to get into the hotel.

Overall it is a nice hotel. The only downside is you don't get any recognition for having status with IHG. You don't even get more than the 1 hour of internet access that everyone receives even though it is a published benefit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Deedazza,

We are so thrilled that you were able to make use of our lovely Restaurant balcony area which overlooks the ocean to enjoy your breakfast during your stay with us. We are extremely fortunate to be in such an ideal location which is close to the ocean, shopping centres and King Shaka International Airport. We certainly do value our IHG Rewards members and do hope that you will continue to make us of the Express Brand for your future travels. A fantastic benefit of our IHG Rewards Programme is that member’s points don't expire. Happy Travels.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing