We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable one night stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were in the area and needed one night stay. It was a pleasing experience room was perfect only beds are small. Service was excellent when we requested a cot and extra bedding it came immediately. Hotel looks nice from outside reception were friendly even got a late checkout only breakfast was a bit sad not a wide variety and if you go late things are all finished so go early also no making of eggs and omelette etc but a basic selection management should have extra in peak season. Overall a good stay will return soon thank you

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room I'm sure the view will be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amatory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent overnight stay with us. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your requests timoulsy. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    188
    89
    30
    15
See reviews for
90
100
17
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg,South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed for two nights on a business trip. Convenient and comfortable for the business person. Not really a holiday hotel. Although I did spot many foreign tourists. The rooms are reasonable size modern comfortable. The breakfast average but everything you need. Had supper one evening in the restaurant. The steak was good. Staff helpful and friendly. Nothing much nearby to do.

Room Tip: ask for sea view at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justagirl2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our facilities were in line with your business requirements and furthermore that you had a good meal experience at the outsourced Butcher Block Restaurant. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaziland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I was in durban with my wife for some business. this was my first visit there so used trip advisor to check out a few hotels & finally decided on this one. Its a great place a walkable distance to a nearby mall, and also to the beach. ask for ocean facing rooms for a great view. its in a quiet area of town and has secure parking. the food is good - try the prawns!. there is free wifi in the rooms. the hotel staff is also quite helpful. i had a meeting on the other end of town and they helped me not only get up on time but also arrive there on time, they even prepared a breakfast pack so i wouldnt miss breakfast...how thoughtful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsn-rhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our Hotel. I am pleased to hear you had a memorable stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We certainly do value your feedback and we certainly look forward to your next visit with us.

Yours sincerely
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

last stay - 16 Dec, 2013 and 17 Dec, 2013.. I am a regular guest of this hotel and whenever I visit Durban .. I always stay in this hotel..
Staff is very friendly .. Rooms are comfortable .. Very Nice Shower, Housekeeping is very efficient.. Buffet Breakfast is delicious......Over all Good Service....
Surely I will recommend to all of my friends and I will always stay in this hotel.. Keep it up !
Planning to come again in MAy, 2014.. So see you soon guys

Room Tip: All rooms are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nffp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your continued support. We truly value your feedback and are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay at our establishment in December.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel later this year as indicated in your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel from the 31st Dec 2013 to 2 Jan 2014. The service at this hotel was absolutely shocking. There were cockroaches crawling around the breakfast room. The pool was green and the hotel expected guests to swim in this water.
I raised my concerns with management who advised that they would look into the matter and provide feedback. To date, no feedback was provided.
It appears that management have no authority to make decisions at this hotel and customer service is not a priority.
I certainly wont be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muhammad Anees H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Durban Umhlanga. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We'd like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honour of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Umhlanga.

Sincerely,
Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Colchester, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel for a night in January (all the other regular hotels were full due to the holiday season) and I certainly wont be returning there. I got the impression that they were trying to accommodate as many people with the fewest amenities as possible and make the most money from them - big mistake, their short term strategy worked but long term cannot be viable.
Quick review - The room was expensive for what I got, there are no bathes, just showers, small TV sets, expensive internet, parking which you had to pay extra for, a couch with a mattress which hadn't been folded away so it took up all the room, no cupboards or shelves to hang clothes, dirty windows, no room service, sheets that didn't quite fit the mattress, no gym and finally no management to be seen at any point of my stay.
The breakfast self service area was so small that the queues were constant and unrelenting - my kitchen service area at home is almost the size of the serving area in this dining room and we have a 4 bedroom house - not a 450 room hotel.
Sorry Holiday Inn, you certainly wont get my hard earned money again.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear PeteF621,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the level of service, facilities and amenities you received during your stay. It is truly regrettable that our room accommodations and breakfast service did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights the staff were very organised and friendly. The rooms were pretty good and very comfortable. We had a sea facing room with great views of the sea. The hotel unlike some other hotels in the area was not right on the beach but it was a reasonable distance . The main pro of the hotel was its distance form the gateway shopping center (it's a 5 mins walk). The facilities were good as we'll and well maintained. The breakfast service was also very good. The car park was also very big. All in all we truly enjoyed our stay there it has a good value for money and a great place to stay for a family.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay at our Hotel. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our facilities to be good value for money. We are extremely fortunate to be situated in a prime position in Umhlanga – close to King Shaka International Airport, Gateway Theatre of Shopping and the beautiful Umhlanga Beaches.
We certainly value your feedback and hope you will continue to make choose the Holiday Inn Express Brand for vacations.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing