We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Umhlanga over night on the first night on a tour of the Coast. We arrived late due to an accident and consequent heavy traffic but reception staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room was reasonable (at the back of the hotel facing the carparks/pool area but very clean with plenty of towels etc. We had booked a family room though, (2 adults & 1 child) and there were no provisions for this. No obvious extra bed, bedding or towels. We called down to reception and were told that this would be rectified while we were at dinner.

We ate in the in-house restaurant, The Butcher Block, which was more than satisfactory - super food and service and a reasonable bill. Would be extremely happy to return! On our return to our room, at almost midnight, there was still no sign of the bed/bedding.

2 trips to reception and the rejection of a sole filthy blanket we were offered later, we finally received 2 clean sheets at 1.30am. But no pillows or anything else. The helpful on-duty security guard delivered theses as there were no housekeeping staff available to open stores. Pretty shoddy service from a hotel this big and not good in comparison to the service in other Holiday Inn hotels which is usually excellent. The 'bed' is the sofa that is in the room. Please be aware of these issues when booking a family room. In the morning the reception staff were non-plussed about such a disruptive night for their guests when we approached them about the situation.

Breakfast was plentiful if slightly bland. We were offered beach towels to use on our trip to the beach which is a nice touch. I would stay at the Holiday Inn Umhlanga again as I would hope the terrible service was a one-off. It's a nice, if generic, hotel and it's well situated with plenty of safe parking. Would like to see it live up to the Holiday Inn reputation for impeccable service though.

Room Tip: You can request a sea view but for a short stay I was more than happy with a view of the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at our Express Hotel .We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet with our normal high standards expected of an international brand and your comments have been addressed with the relevant department to ensure going forward we don’t have a similar occurrence. We are pleased that you did enjoy the facilities on offer at the outsourced Butcher Block Restaurant as well as our Express Brand Breakfast during your stay. We certainly do hope that you will continue to make use of the Holiday Inn Express Brand for your accommodation needs.
Kind regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spent 3 nights in the this hotel, and was pleasantly surprised. Usually Holiday Inn's are just Ok but this one was fantastic. The staff are super friendly, the hotel is clean and appears to have been recently remodelled.
Having to put your room key into a card reader to activate the electricity in the room is quite annoying as you can keep the room cool while you are away. I understand why this is being down and the hotel is attempting to be as ECO friendly as possible, so this is a really nice idea from that prospective, but, if you are not used to this system you will lock your room key in your room a few times.
The biggest issue for me as a foreign traveler was that the rooms have no clocks,and my phone did not work while I was in South Africa (a whole different story) so I had no idea what the time was.
This hotel is an amazing value, has a beautiful deck and because it is set on the hill you have a view of the ocean which is about a mile away.
If you are staying anywhere in the Umhlanga area and have meetings in Durban then expect pretty bad traffic on the freeway during peak periods.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback. We certainly are pleased that you appreciate our effort for being ECO friendly and furthermore that you had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful ocean views from our Great Room Balcony,

Peak traffic can result in delays and as per your recommendation; it is always advisable to leave 15 minutes earlier to reach those early morning appointments on time!

Again, we certainly value your positive feedback and recommendations and certainly do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I checked in on Monday12th May, and checked out on the 13th. This was my second stay at this hotel. Very centrally located as a launch pad to Durban, Ballito and surrounding areas. By staying at this hotel you'll be very close to major road networks, and away from the traffic. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious enough with showers. Some rooms are sea facing and there is undercover parking (you pay) and open parking that is free. Their rate includes breakfast which has a reasonable choice of hot and cold food. The dining staff is super efficient, clearing tables immediately, that I like. There is restaurant on site which has the same menu as the in-room dining. They don't do room service but use an order and collect service, where they bring your order to the entrance near the restaurant. There is a nice sea view from the hotel if you choose table more towards the end. The food is good and their portions are huge. I had their oxtail served with mash potatoes and vegetables. The hotel is a stone's throw from Gateway shopping Mall which closes very late everyday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your very informative and helpful feedback to fellow travelers in Umhlanga! We certainly do value your positive feedback of our Hotel and will definitely relay your restaurant experience to Butcher Block Restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just an overnight stop but clean, comfortable and helpful staff. Plumbing problems with the first two(!) rooms were attended to sympathetically and promptly involving a change of room. Perhaps, though, maintenance systems need to be looked at?
The adjoining/related restaurant facility was very good.
Inclusive breakfast comprehensive and good.

Room Tip: Sea view while not 'stunning' was pleasant and must be preferred to an inland view I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_staddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for bringing to our attention the maintenance concerns which were addressed during your stay. Apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are pleased that you enjoy our Express Breakfast Offering. We certainly do hope you will continue to make use of the Express Brand Properties.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely hotel with Immense views. Brilliant breakfast. Secure Car parking. Lovely room with coffee making facilities. Very clean. Lovely restaurant attached to hotel that served lovely food at very reasonable prices.
Pool was good (a little small). Very reasonably priced
Friendly, helpful staff! Close by to shopping centre.
Perfect location for a beach break whilst in South Africa!
Cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your extremely positive feedback from your recent stay at our Hotel. We are so pleased that we could make your stay in our beautiful country such a pleasant one. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed there April 3. Check in was OK, but cool and computerized. I was bushed and asked about room service. Was told to call a 5 digit number I couldn't remember. After cracking into my room (literally- had to do the electric key two-three times and hit the door with my shoulder at precisely the right moment. No menus in room, directory gave no clue, went down to ask, and was sent over to the restaurant next door. He took my order, made good suggestions and all, but said they would deliver to the desk, the desk would call me to come pick it up. About an hour later two of the people at the hotel knocked at my door with a sack with the food. They said the called my room several times, I didn't answer. The phone never rang, but what a screwball system for room service. The steak I ordered was of course cold by then, and all that was provided was a plastic fork and knife. Try cutting a cool rump steak with plastic knife. I gave up, went down to the lobby again asked for a metal fork and knife. Fortunately the bar had some. It is a new place, still getting its act together, I would give it two to three years of maturation before going back. Has a nice view of the Indian Ocean. Room was clean.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dwight O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for any miscommunication received regarding the out-sourced restaurant. As part of our Express Brand Standards, all food service orders are on a “call & collect basis” and need to be collected from the reception desk in the interest of our guest’s safety and security. Thank you for bringing to our attention the maintenance concern regarding your door which we will address. I am pleased to note that you did get a chance to admire our stunning ocean view and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were in the area and needed one night stay. It was a pleasing experience room was perfect only beds are small. Service was excellent when we requested a cot and extra bedding it came immediately. Hotel looks nice from outside reception were friendly even got a late checkout only breakfast was a bit sad not a wide variety and if you go late things are all finished so go early also no making of eggs and omelette etc but a basic selection management should have extra in peak season. Overall a good stay will return soon thank you

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room I'm sure the view will be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amatory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent overnight stay with us. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your requests timoulsy. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £58 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing