We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Greater Valdior Lodge”
Review of Valdior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valdior
Ranked #8 of 42 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our first stay for 2 weeks, and it was the best start for vacation. great room (we stayed in florentine Suite). we only spend 2 nights, but those were excellent. very nice and helpful staff.
great spot to go for Sightseeing in Durban (15 Minutes by Car), or Shopping in Gateway (10 Minutes by Car).
just 5 minutes by car to towncenter of umhlanga with a great "Havanna" Restaurant - really to recommend.

Room Tip: the florentine Suite is the greates choice on "Roof top" with your own private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miracolimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Valdior for 5 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is clean and the rooms are nice.

We had two problems: the pool was green 2 out of 5 days and we could not use it.

The Internet did not work for 2 out of 5 days. When we left the hotel they charged us zar 700 for the use of the internet for the 3 days we could use it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We only spent one night at the Valdior Hotel but it was a pleasant stay. The hotel and the room were tastefully done. It all looked very clean. I loved the lounge, it felt warm and comfortable just looking at it. Sandra and the other staff I chat with were very friendly. The location was very good, it was on a very quiet street, but near the beach and the restaurants. I can't say anything about the breakfast because we didn't have breakfast at the hotel. A few minor things I didn't like, but I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want views of the sea, I think the Claudia and Florentine rooms are the ones to book. But for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have just stayed at the Valdior and was really impressed. The Valdior is a wonderful place to stay - right in the heart of Umhlanga but far enough from the hustle and bustle of the beachfront flats. Sandra is a wonderful hostess. Go and try it out - you won't be disappointed especially at the price - real value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUISESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The lounge and dining room area are nicely renovated, but not the bedroom, and it was awful although they considered it one of their best. Most of the towels were fresh, except one that smelt. Unprofessional. We had booked in to spend the night, but instead moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
3  Thank Flings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I saw Valdior on Tripadvisor in about March 2011 and it had not had many reviews at that stage, but the few reviews we saw indicated this was a nice guesthouse to spend our Christmas holiday. We spent 1 night in the Octavia Room and 7 nights in the Claudia Suite in December 2011 and simply loved Valdior. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, mini-bar, safes, bathrobes, DSTV etc.

We loved the Claudia suite with it's private patio that looks out onto the Indian Ocean. The pool is massive and such a nice way to cool down after a hot day on the beach. The location is fabulous, high up on the hill, so you have lovely views of the ocean, and close enough to the village and beaches but far enough away from the mad crowds of December.

Sandra and the team are wonderful, friendly, and so helpful, always smiling and assisting in whatever request we had. Highly recommended if you are looking for some luxury and an intimate and romantic guesthouse in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: The Claudia Suite - larger size room and lovely private patio with stunning views onto the Indian Oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just returned from a very enjoyable trip to South Africa and stayed at the Valdior for our second week. We have travelled extensively but have not come across a more friendlier and lovely hotel as this. Sandra and her staff went out of their way to make the holiday as relaxed as possible. The accommodation was wonderful (more like a self contained apartment) with a big balcony and sea view. The freshly cooked breakfast every morning was great with quite a choice of options. We also contacted Sandra by e-mail beore the holiday and she organised excursions to the Zulu battlefields and a game reserve which we really enjoyed over two full days. Will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Stretch the budget a bit and book the largest room with balcony and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VC-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 42 in Umhlanga Rocks
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
HoneyPot B&B
HoneyPot B&B
#6 of 42 in Umhlanga Rocks
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zeranka Lodge
Zeranka Lodge
#2 of 42 in Umhlanga Rocks
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crooked Tree Cottage
Crooked Tree Cottage
#5 of 42 in Umhlanga Rocks
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdior

Address: 118 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valdior 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valdior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing