We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to stay in Umhlanga”
Review of Valdior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valdior
Ranked #8 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Only Place to stay in Umhlanga”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

No point in going to Durban or Umhlanga if you are not going to stay at the Valdior. This is a true boutique B and B. Friendly reception staff invite you into this modern mansion with beautiful sea views. Rooms are well appointed, spacious and comfortable with all the amenities a traveller needs. The day is started with a scrumptious freshly prepared breakfast. The day ends with a glass of wine at the pool side. The beach is in walking distance as well as the many shops and large selection of Umhlanga's finest restaurants. I would really recommend the Valdior for the business or leisure traveller looking for a luxurious place to relax and unwind that's also good value for money. Thanks to the staff at Valdior for making my stay special and memorable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DocKS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    38
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
77
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was the last hotel on our 17 day trip, and a relaxed way to end. Staff were friendly and helpful, room had a great view and balcony. Looked to us as if they were undergoing a redecoration as our room and some of the public areas were tired.....
there is great potential for this to be a lovely hotel in a great town.

Room Tip: 2 x upstairs rooms have views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Valdior Guest House is a beautiful mansion with rooms fit for a princess. The staff is highly professional and very discreet and helpful.
It is surrounded by many just as beautiful mansions.
Breakfast was freshly made from a extensive menu to choose from.
The pool looked also very nice.
From the balkony you have a beautiful view of the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 100Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent two days at Valdior. The view from the room (Claudia) is very beautiful, you can see the ocean. The breakfast is good and the staff is helpful. Is nice to see the monkey run in the garden and over trees :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at Valdior for two nights. The rooms we were each allocated were luxurious and spacious. The staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. The breakfast menu offered a variety of choices and was delicious. Valdior is conveniently located - close to restaurants, shopping malls, the beach and the airport. We will definitely be staying at Valdior again. A 5-star establishment!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Augusta Room. We found this room most satisfying to our needs. We had wifi included too. The room was always cleaned to our liking. We didn't have a sea view. However, we had a private entrance, courtyard and our own parking a step away. The breakfast was really delicious. The staff were friendly, welcoming and lovely to chat to, right down to the cleaning staff. We would stay here again. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had been in Umhlanga Rocks a month before and, although we enjoyed the previous B&B we stayed at, we thought we would try something different. We were glad we did as we really enjoyed our couple of nights at Valdior. It was a little longer walk to the beach and restaurants than the other we stayed at but overall the accommodation was superior so the trade off was worth it.

Room Tip: The large suite at the back right side of the house was fantastic and it had a great patio deck over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdior

Property: Valdior
Address: 118 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valdior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing