We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for money, facilities and location. Personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great value for money, facilities and location. Personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

After a few stays, time for a review: modern, tasteful, functional rooms and facilities (small gym and rooftop pool). Bed, bedding and towels of top quality. Breakfast quality varied over the last year, improved again to "good". Restaurant very good. Staff friendly and very helpful. Secure underground parking. Next-door mini shoping centre, large-sizeGateway Centre a 15min walk away. I will always go back!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Floh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

PS: We now have more designer stores and an Italian Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    78
    34
    17
    15
See reviews for
31
67
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Square is a stylish boutique hotel at Umhlanga Rocks. we booked four rooms on 1st floor including a suite. 2 rooms were quite small though well furnished. The suite was quite cozy. The bathrooms were very nice. The hotel has a spa on the top floor and is just across a shopping centre in Umhlanga Rocks. It's less than a kilometre from Gateway Mall. The restaurant is right across the front desk. If offers good breakfast and meal options with both indoor and outdoor seating. The staff is quite attentive and helpful. Umhlanga rocks is a beautiful location to stay in amid beautiful office complexes which makes it quite tranquil in the evenings. There are lots of options to hang out and eat in the vicinity to make this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sundeep,

Thank you for telling me about your stay. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We went on a deal including flights and car hire via the kulula website, we didn't get the deluxe room including breakfast as it was R1,000 more for each of us. You can get the breakfast separately at the hotel which I would recommend as it was lovely.

The hotel is only 5 mins from the shopping centre and 10 mins from the centre of Umhlanga you would need a car or taxi.

The staff were welcoming and lovely and i will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zutguyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you. I am glad you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This boutique hotel managed by Three Cities is a wonderful jewel in Umhlanga, KZN. The rooms are wonderfully apportioned with beautiful bathrooms. The staff is absolutely wonderful and always eager to assist. The breakfast and restaurant is stunning and the food recommendable. Even has a nicely equipped gym. Definitely the best option from all the hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: I noticed no reason to consider rooms at different levels or sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel in January 2012-peak season-initially on arrival our room was half ready due to the hotel being fully booked the night before however on advising management I was immediately ugraded from a deluxe suite to a superior room which was amazing. The room was spacious, we had my 9 year old daughter with us-we had plenty of space. The hotel staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was exellent, the rooms are cleaned daily, always fresh towels. The pool on the roof top is amazing-good view of Durban. I would definitely recommend this hotel to business travellers as well.

Room Tip: sea facing room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you and I am glad you had an amazing stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here just for one night, was very impressed. Very clean and modern. Rooms are well kitted out and spacious with lovely bathrooms. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Great location as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejan P, General Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Awesome feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

You won't find a place nicer/more convenient.When you're travelling for business,it's the little
touches that count.Of the 20 or so places in durban I've stayed,this is the most comfortable.
Rooms are gorgeous,staff is quiet,and very helpful.Rooftop view of Durban and beach,exquisite!Close to Gateway Mall,and good launching point for tourist activities.

Room Tip: Upgrate rooms are fabulous as well.Umhlanga beaches,Shark board,Aquarium,and Gateway an La Lucia Mal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mela A, Public Relations Manager at The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our Hotel.

Please note that we will be introducing a shuttle service to the hotel which will also help guests get around to the various attractions nearby.

We are happy to have made your stay memorable.

We hope to be seeing you again at our hotel on your next visit.

Thanks & Kindest Regards,

Mela Arnold
PR / Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 250 Umhlanga Rocks Drive | Durban, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#9 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Boutique Hotel And Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing