We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house in a trendy seaside area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chartwell Guest House
Ranked #18 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, although we have one or two slightly negative observations to make.

We liked the room, and our host was friendly and accommodating - the view of the ocean was stunning from the back garden where there is a lovely swimming pool.

Our host informed us that Umhlanga is very safe to walk around - even at night - we agreed entirely. We felt very safe walking back from the restaurants (5-10 mins walk away) in the dark. What we found weird is that every house in the area, including Chartwell house has electric fences on the perimeter and bars on the windows - it felt a little compound-like as a result. Having stayed in suburbs across the country (Port Elizabeth, Cape Town, Franschhoek, Paarl, St Lucia, Knysna etc), we have experienced suburbs where a few houses have this style of security, but in Umhlanga it was the rule rather than an unusual thing to see outside houses.

Breakfast was nice and tasty and kept us going till about 2pm on both days we were in the Durban area. All of the staff were brilliant, friendly and a credit to the Guest House.

The area itself has wonderful beaches, shopping malls, restaurants, bars and clubs - there is a very trendy, upmarket vibe - I have never seen houses as large as the ones on Chartwell Drive!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SableSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisepD9148FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dennisde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatrienDeBlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.1 mi away
HoneyPot B&B
HoneyPot B&B
#5 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Lodge
Flamingo Lodge
#8 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesorino B&B
Tesorino B&B
#9 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments
La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartm...
#19 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingston House B&B
Kingston House B&B
#15 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zeranka Lodge
Zeranka Lodge
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartwell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartwell Guest House

Address: 88 Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartwell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to Umhlanga Rocks for business or pleasure, Chartwell Guest House has it all. We are close to the airport, beaches, Gateway Shopping Centre, Umhlanga Village, bars, restaurants & night clubs. Our rooms are all large, luxurious and spotlessly clean. Some rooms have spectacular sea views whilst others have self-catering facilities and decadent luxury. Our staff are warm & friendly and we pride ourself on excellent service and generous hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chartwell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing