We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #22 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I always enjoy myself at this resturant. Love the food, staff are friendly and there is always a friendly manager with a warm smile constantly checking if the customers are ok. I definatly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamohelo_Hlakoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    73
    31
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My experience here was nothing out of the ordinary... the food was ..well seafood done on a mass production style manner. the service was almost non existent. rather do take aways only. I would rather eat at the Durban North branch. atmosphere and service is much better there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“freshest seafood-served in skillet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We liked the affordable prices, taste & presentation of the food.We had a prawn,calamari & fish medley in a mild curry sauce- delicious. There wasn't anyhting that we disliked at this restaurant

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fcanty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is the second time that i have visited the Ocean Basket since relocating to Umhlanga in the beginning of december 2012. Upon entering the establishment, i was greeted by a lady who was not very welcoming at all, then proceeded to ask me if i would like to sit inside or outside, to which i replied outside please. Upon seating me down, i received the standard bread roll and 1 butter together with the standard side sauces that you get. I then had to wait about 15 minutes before a waiter came to me and took my order. Upon looking around, and taking notes visually, my table cloth looked like it had not been changed in a while or worse off that it had not been washed, "seriously, in a restaurant environment, hygience and cleanliness should be of importance"clearly not here".
Upon receiving my food, which i was really looking forward to, i was not overly impressed by the presentation, as it looked like everything that i had ordered was piled ontop of each other. Worse off the food was not piping hot at all, instead it was warm, almost as if it had been standing at the pass for a while.
During my meal, there was a waiter, whose friends obviously came to visit him and had a meal, instead of looking at for the best interest of other customers dining there, he rather stood at the table with his friends planning what they were going to do later and where they were going to meet and the language that was being used was that of a very vulgar nature.
What got my blood boiling even more is that i watched him chewing on his finger nails and spitting them out all over the patio where myself together with other customers were trying to enjoy a medioca meal.
"What kept on going through my head the whole time" was that i hope before he touches anyone elses food or beverage that he washes his hands which i highly doubt.

This is sadly not the Ocean Basket that i remember that i used to frequent when visiting when i was just another holiday maker in Umhlanga.

Sadly my last visit and never again.Lucky i had complimentary meal vouchers.

Management you should definately send your training on cleaniness, hygience and overall service standards which clearly is lacking in a very big way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casual_diner434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good seafood as expected at Ocean Basket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Always eat at Ocean Basket Umhlanga. The seafood is always good at amazingly good prices.Ocean Basket Umhlanga is a must visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing