We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Best...”
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not the Best...”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Calamari was rubbery, staff were friendly and the service was good. This restaurant sometimes puts out great food, but it seems they also quiet often lately have their off days...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    76
    33
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Situated ok but only street view”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Good food. Very busy at the time we visited. Waiters were attentative, our waiter was over-zealous, spilling our wine on two occasions when pouring into our glasses. Otherwise, a nice casual experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Bathrooms”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The bathrooms were absolutely terrible, the food was average after having waited for 30 minutes after the order to get our meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This ocean is very far away”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Not the same standard as other Ocean Baskets in the franchise. Prawns were burnt and dry, rice was undercooked, beer was warm, waiter was insensitive to requests..... would not recommend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close contact”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoyed the food and is well located close to our range.
The staff were very good to us with good service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moloko Annikie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing