We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for around 4 days. The hotel has all the usual amentities. Its relatively close to the Mall so convenient for shopping all around. Although the beach is a drive of less than 5mins away. Rooms were clean and spacious. We were impressed with the interior finishes of the hotel and rooms. Breakfast staff were always friendly and willing to assist. Breakfast; I was happy with the variety. Room Service was on stipulated times only. The parking was included in our reservation; which was good.

Near the end of my stay i found out about the Spa thats in-house and due to time; i could not indulge.

All around its a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are sea facing rooms which are wonderful to see in the morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumitra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    211
    54
    16
    16
See reviews for
247
112
12
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Can't fault this hotel on anything but nothing wowed me. The hotel has a "green" feeling about it.The room is very small with two double beds,tea/coffee making facilities,hairdryer,no mini bar. The bathroom has a separate shower and small bath.The shower has it's own mirror (nice thought).The rooms are not sound proof,you could hear the people next door. We stayed in a street facing room,the traffic and cars chasing gets annoying at night.I am sure the pool facing rooms are a lot better.Breakfast is very good,with delicious hot chocolate and cappuccino.There is also a coffee machine in the lounge,you can buy a cup of cappuccino or hot chocolate for R5.00.Parking is safe and free.The hotel is a walking distance from a shopping mall and restaurants.The beach is about 4km away.I think this hotel is suitable for business people.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zee55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Business trip, last morning there after a 4 night stay - no hot water for shower and no warning or apology.

Restaraunt has buffet some nights - when they nhave this guests are not allowed to order a la carte menu - UNLESS you agree to eat in your bedroom!!

If they can send a la carte menu food to your bedroom - why can this not be served in the diningroom?

So, when the food was sent up - a medium rare steak - dry, tasteless, like pink leather. Veggies seemed like old frozen veggies - just reheated. Big disappointment. Would not like to return there (often go to KZN for business purposes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shezzie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were very impressed with the interior finishes of the hotel and the rooms. The rooms were absolutely stunning. Very trendy look and feel, with mounted flat screen, and views to match. Staff are very friendly. The included breakfast buffet was the cherry on top, but also the only reason why it didn't receive 5/5. Nothing wrong with the food, very good(just not excellent). But everything was fresh and delicious. Plus free cappuccino's!

The parking was included in our reservation, so all and all, everything worked out wonderfully well. Literally a stones throw away from the massive gateway shopping centre. And the beach is about a 4 minute drive away.

Fantastic experience. Thanks, guys.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor are nice because of the views, all rooms have views, even if you facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berno_Pretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed over during the last weekend of July and were impressed. Bathrooms that have a separate shower and bath- unique for Garden Courts in RSA. Except for limited room service ( no breakfast), we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I regularly stay at the hotel and am always made to feel at home. The rooms are small but comfortable. 4 star quality and service for 3 star prices

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhail1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel has thought of all of the little things you may need for a quick stop over in Durban, within walking distance to the Gateway Mall. The breakfast choice is wide and never boring. The breakfast staff though could benefit from a more attitude shift towards servicing clients, it is the only snag I can pick out. The wireless connectivity should be completely rehauled so that anyone who has this service with another service provider other than Wireless G can access this service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Property: Garden Court Umhlanga
Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing