We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have reviewed this hotel in the past but this time I stayed here with my husband and son. The staff where friendly and helpful.
I was worried about the noise factor as one of the AFCON soccer teams was staying at the hotel but we did not hear a sound from them.
The pool area is fantastic. My son loved the kids pool and sandpit which was well stocked with toys. As a business hotel this place really goes out of it's way to be family friendly.
I have stayed in a number of Garden Court hotels but this one really is a cut above the rest. Rooms are modern and comfortable.
Breakfast is excellent and the variety of foods staggering. You could have three different meals with what they provide.
This hotel really is by far the best place to stay in the Umhlangha area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We value your return business and are delighted that that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for couple of nights during the december holidays and we really enjoyed ourselves.We had a pool facing room,rooms are nice size with latest design and decor the pool is rather small but we did enjoy the warm water,all in all a nice hotel lovely location close to the beach and a walking distance to the gateway shopping centre

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have seen many hotels in the same rating as this one but this facility is on the class of its own. The rooms are not massive but better and bigger than many European four star hotels. I love its heated pool and location of the bar. A short walk to the mall and you can have different food and the hotel breakfast is the best. The gym facilities are excellent and the staff are so professional and always ready to help the guests. Walking around the block or jogging is very safe hence the location is one of the best in Durban. I congratulate the Manager and the team. The spa is good and very reasonable price wise, they are indeed selling a services and not discouraging guests to run away.

Room Tip: Pool facing room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavuso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased that you had and enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return in the near future!

Warmest regards from the GC uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel was opened during the 2010 world cup and the hospitality has definitely extended beyond that. Rooms are contemporary and modern like therest of the hotel.

Excellent breakfast.
Ample undercover parking.
Friendly staff.
Location is excellent. Situated in upmarket neighbour hood walking distance to gateway mall

If it Ws on the beach I would rate this hotel as a top ten in south Africa. Still excellent never the less.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaheer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We a pleased that you were well taken care off and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Garden court for three nights over the December/ January holidays. Our group consisted of five families with a total of 19. Initially we were only planning on spending two nights there and due to a booking mix up at Tamarin beach house and we were pleased when the Garden court was able to accommodate us at short notice. The rooms are modern and well equipped. The heated pool was a win with our kids and they even had a magician to entertain them. The food was good and the service was great. The hotel staff even helped us when we requested an early check in because we were exhausted after our boat cruise. The close proximity to Gateway shopping center is also brilliant. I can recommend this hotel and I plan to be back soon.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time a write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. It was pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Hotel General
- Very clean and well maintained.
- Staff is accommodating and friendly.
- Rooms are tidy and well designed.
- Bar area is inviting and allows for a family getaway from the room.
- Breakfast is almost flawless. Loses marks with quality of coffee machines.

The pool was disappointing, as it was milky, dirty, and questionable substances floating in the water on the day of our departure. The pool was very busy, but this is no excuse. This matter was addressed with management and they have responded. I sincerely hope they have sorted this issue.

All things considered this is an extremely clean and professional hotel. It is reminiscent of the old South Africa in the sense where everything works, and works well and is maintained as required. Another factor they could improve is activities for kids.

Garden Court Umhlanga Rocks scores 8.5/10, loosing points for the dirty pool and lack of kids activities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creasybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comment regarding the swimming pool has been noted and will be looked into by our maintenance manager. Our sincere apologies that it did not meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Excellent breakfast, good location, soundproof rooms.
We got a double room with a modern bathroom with shower and bath.
It is really all round an excellent 3 star hotel. The hotel even provided undercover parking in the building at no additional cost. The hotel is ideal for business travellers and families, but remember the beach is a 5 minute taxi ride away (about R50.00). The bar and pool area is very nice to relax by. It is just across the road from a large shopping centre where you will find many restaurants, shops, fastfood places, coffee shops and cinemas.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: You can try and ask for a room higher than the first floor on the ocean side, where you will have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunsetBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Garden Court uMhlanga. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,179 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £77 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing