We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service for 3 star establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Umhlanga
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“5 star service for 3 star establishment”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What an awesome experience as always. Thank you to a warm and hospital team of people who go out of their way to ensure service excellence. Special thanks to Meryl and Nirosh who took extra special care of us. The hotel is great for kids, a wonderful play area and heated kiddie pool. Great cocktails and an excellent choice of cuisine for every taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aradhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    205
    53
    16
    15
See reviews for
244
108
12
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the Garden Court Umhlanga for three nights.
I had a late check in on my arrival and I was surprised I had the most smelly room in the hotel located on the first floor. Somehow the staff was saying that it is not a smoking room and then the version has changed by claiming that a smoking room was ordered but I rechecked the reservation and that is not the case.

I had a room on the 3rd floor, the room is very spacious and clean. the big minus is the lighting in the bathroom. This is all led lights so when you have to shave for your meeting it is just like shaving in the dark as led light is not spread and that causes shadows when you look at yourself in the mirror.

The breakfast is superb and the WiFi signal great.

The gym is small.

The hotel is five minutes by walk away from The Gateway mall.

Room Tip: If you do not smoke, please reject any room on the first floor, If you want a sea view ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Umhlanga Garden Court. Love the location - easy access to Gateway Mall, the Beach and the Highway. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Complimentary parking and wifi is a bonus and I love the concept Breakfast on the go. Hotel staff are brilliant. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shammz236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms were nice and big with big beds and bath and shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was great. Dining room staff/servers not very friendly though. Hotel very close to Gateway Mall for excellent shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A3DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for the Comrades 2014 marathon. Service was great, and so was the breakfast served at 3:00am! The staff was always friendly. Checking in and out of the hotel was painless. We'll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rainer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The close proximity to business and pleasure in Durban and surrounds makes this hotel an ideal location. Friendly and prompt service combined with value for money makes this stay worth while again and again. Just had a walk to Gateway shopping centre and a good meal at Beluga restaurant. Safe to walk out at night and the weather this time of the year is great.

Room Tip: Odd room numbers give you the internal pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent location, central to Durban and the lush North Coast beaches, close to the airport as well as within walking distance to the "Gateway Theatre of Shopping' - which caters for shopping as well as entertainment catering for all ages as well varying options from surfing to science to movies including Imax theatre and a range of good selection restaurants/coffee shops in the area.
Have stayed at this hotel before and noted some changes to the shower enclosure, which improves privacy, however the bathroom now feels claustrophobic - not helped by the flickering lightings in the bathroom as well as to the entrance of the room.
The dinner selection was excellent, letdown by the service. Long wait before we were able to enjoy the well prepared meal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayroon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Property: Garden Court Umhlanga
Address: 7 Aurora Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing