We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INDABA 2012 Guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Awesome views. wonderful experience, fantastic comfortable rooms, spacious modern bathrooms, Breakfast- staff was warm,kind, assisted with your every need and very helpfull. THe assortment breakffastfoods takes you on a trip of its own. My fellow muslim attendees were thoroughly enjoying an all Halaal buffet. They had a ball. God bless and all accolades to your staff. A must return for us with next years INDABA

Room Tip: Ask the evening room delivery of biscuits or turn down to be before 19h00 if you sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumleysPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 397 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel should make it clear that it is a muslim hotel, aimed at muslim customers. Food is halaal with no 'western' options - for example heavily spiced lamb and chicken sausages for breakfast, not a strip of bacon nor a pork sausage in sight. Chilli and onion omlettes. Breakfast was included in our package, but after the first day we did not eat in the hotel again.

The room was lovely, spacious with a great view. The bathroom was outstanding. Our room was clean but the hotel in general was dirty - guests dropping ice-cream in the lifts, food in the halls, trailing in dirt from their shoes etc.

However, there was a very noisy geyser (or something) that would suddenly clatter and whine through the night. One night we also had to phone reception about repeated hammering at 22.30. The hammering stopped, but we never even received a courtesy call or any kind of explanation.

The hotel is hideous from the outside, not really sure how town planning approved it?

Service was slow, but not too awful.

To sum up, I won't be rebooking this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tusabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuben101, Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Tusabrat

We thank you and value your constructive feedback. Allow us to correct your below statement. Coastlands Umhlanga is a divers hotel catering for all cultures. It is correct that we do not serve pork products in the hotel and we do not use any alcohol in our food preparation. The omelettes are made with a choice of fillings selected by the guest.

It is pleasing to note your positive comments about our rooms and thank you for that.

Kind regards

The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I attended a conference at this hotel.

My room was amazing. Very mod. (I even took photo's of the bathroom, the shower, etc. to assist in my own home renovations).
The buffet lunch was vast but not too fussy. I ate more than I should've considering we were sitting in meetings for 3 days.
The hotel is very close to Gateway and the beach is a very short drive away. I prefer the Golden Mile and that too was easily accessible.

I would definitely stay there again, and I'm considering it as a venue to celebrate a certain 'big day'.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdHiLa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed at Coastlands Umhlanga for a week. It's a new hotel, well designed. The rooms are very good. The bar and restaurant area is spacious and well laid out. It was designed to give you a great sea view but that's already partially blocked by Holiday Inn Express and there's more construction going on in front. The hotel service is a tad slow and the pool deck though big the actual pool is very small for a hotel this size. Recently, KFC outlet has opened in the same compound. But even otherwise, the hotel is located quite close to the Umhlanga Rocks Food Area and even closer to the Gateway Mall. I would l love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divem0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank bpi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £64 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing