We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for business, convenient location”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I spent one night at this hotel. It is conveniently located in Umhlanga Rocks, close to the Gateway mall and the beach. Also close to a lot of the business parks in the area.

The check in staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nicely sized, clean and well equiped. Breakfast and wifi was included in my rate. The bed was great and comfortable.

Good hotel for a business stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    114
    58
    25
    25
See reviews for
56
88
11
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and had some great experiances.

Sadly during my recent trip there seemed to be a problem regarding the travel agent paying for my accomodation up-front. On booking out my wife was charged for "extra's". When I advised the hotel that my voucher clearly stated full bill-back to the travel agent they stated they would only refund the monies to my wife after two weeks. I requesred speaking to the manager who was not available. I requested they resolve this issue the same day and for the manager to call me, this did not happen. I called the hotel the next day and requested to speak with the manager, to no avail.

Needless to say I will never again stay in, nor recommend, this hotel due to the pittyful service. No wonder the staff can't assist or commit to resolving a dispute, they obviosly mirror this behaviour of their management.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umhlanga Rocks hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The room we were checked in had a door leading to the room next door. We didnt think this was a problem as the door was locked. In the early hours of the morning (of our second night at this hotel) we were woken up by a smell of DAGGA?WEED coming from the room next door through the leading door that the two rooms are sharing!!!!
Our sleep was disturbed. we called the reception to report the matter and reception and management took forever to come up and sort the matter to a point that I had to personally go down and have someone look into this. This is only then security was sent up and after about 30minutes of aurguing our neighbours left.

What is really bad is how the hotel can book two different people in those types of rooms as it is clearly family rooms and hence the leading door. We paid to get a peaceful and enjoyable stay and not the experience we had due to a hotel wanting to maximise it's revenue at the expense of the guests.

I will definitely NOT go back to this hotel and will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zokhanyo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at coastlands as part of a conference delegation from jhb. The hotel is conveniently located in umhlanga.the entrance is a bit deceiving which is due to the actual reception being located on another floor. The foyers on the hotel room floors are spacious and the decor modern and pleasant. The rooms are immaculately clean and modern as well. The food in the restaurant caters for everyone's taste - the view is pleasing from the restaurant especially if you are a lover of the sea. The staff are very friendly and helpful - typically hospitable of people from durban. The only downside - the lifts are extremely slow! On enquiring about the rate for my hotel dossier of info, I was told it is a standard rate of r1400-00 per room with breakfast. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for three nights and had a corner room so had a view which looked out on the ocean and also down to Durban.
The room was very clean and an enormous size.
Staff were very friendly and the meals and breakfast excellent.
Lacking at the hotel was tourist information and tours available.
The hotel is very close to gateway shopping centre and the hospital also is about 20 minute walk to the beach.
Taxis are readily available and will take one to and from the beach. Okay walking dwn in the day but would think twice at night.
There's are some nice restaurants in umhlanga Rocks.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jwpinnacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The décor is great, mod, hip and tasteful. The rooms spacious. The hotel is also located conveniently and within walking distance from Gateway Shopping Mall. But service leaves much to be desired. It is plain pathetic. Fridge in room did not work upon arrival; maintenance changed it after we literally begged for it to be done, still did not work. Aircon also faulty and no help from maintenance to fix this. Reception staff just plain not interested in dealing with issues. Ordered ice the FIRST night we got there, Friday, never arrived after no less than 5 calls. Breakfast, a nice spread but the restaurant service is not up to standard at all, on equal parr with the rest of the hotel's service. This was all and all a bad first time experience at this hotel and not sure we will be back for more aggravation. Looks can indeed be deceiving, that's for sure. We did meet with the duty manager when we checked out and he promised to get back to us to tell us what went wrong with the dewal we got in room 612. No feedback to date. When you go to the Comrades choose a different spot where you don't have to add to your worries, having to deal with the race and the stress of the race is enough, you don't need more.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Pro: Beautiful hotel, great halal breakfast and safe parking.

Cons:
Service was poor at the restaurant.

We stayed here for 6 days and found the cleaning staff very rude. We were woken to loud banging on our door at 9.00am every morning by cleaning staff depite a ''do not disturb'' sign on the door. The cleaner asked us to leave the room soon as she wanted to go home early...we found this totally bizarre.

The television did not work for the entire time we were there- the only channel was MNET and we could not change it with the remote or on the TV itself. Despite numerous complaints..this was never attended to.

There was not enough coffee, milk, sugar and the shower gel/shampoo was not replaced daily.
The cleaners broke 2 of the glasses whilst cleaning and the turned them around and just left the broken glasses back on the counter.

In the 6 days we stayed there, the linens were never changed on the beds and there was no card which we could let cleaners know that we wanted them changed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BashCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Property: Coastlands Umhlanga
Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing