We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit gaudy but very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastlands Umhlanga
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel in Umhlanga - not close to the sea but has a view of the sea depending on where your room is. Lovely view from the restaurant. The room I stayed in had a few lights missing/not working so the room was a bit dark. Rooms are spacious and well set out (even if the decor is a bit gaudy) as are the bathrooms.

I had dinner in the hotel which was a fantastic buffet. Really wide choice of meals, salads, deserts which were all very tasty. Interestingly, at breakfast the hotel doesn't serve bacon for religious reasons. Surprising for a hotel, but one has to respect their beliefs.

I'm not sure I would stay here if on holiday. I think you could be closer to the beach at Umhlanga, but a great hotel if staying for business.

Room Tip: I think most rooms will have some view of the sea. Perhaps just check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good morning

Thank you for choosing Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the dinner buffet. We have relayed your comments to our Executive Chef and his team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel during your next business trip.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Coastlands Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We held a conference at the Coastlands, The location was great, being convenient and obvious to guests with plenty of parking. Facilities for the conference were good, although there was a very low ceiling in the room which forced taller people to duck entering the room and dodge fire sprinklers! Service for the conference was spot on.

Guest rooms were not to the same standard. The plumbing in the bathroom was appalling, the bath plug would not hold water, shower tray overran flooding the bathroom, toilet running, no hot water at times. Both air con and fridge were very noisy and didn't allow for a restful night's sleep. Staff were generally surly and unhelpful, although there were a few exceptions. The restaurant at breakfast and lunch was well stocked and varied but the same was not true in the evening with little choice.

With plenty of other options in the area I wouldn't want to be staying there again.

Room Tip: it's not obvious when you enter that Reception is on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good morning

Thank you for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We are pleased that you had an overall good experience at our property. We have escalated your comments to Senior Management and Directors and we have addressed it accordingly.

We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the maintenance issues in your room and we have ensures that this is attended to.

We hope that you will consider staying at Coastlands Umhlanga or at one of our other Coastlands Hotels and Resorts soon,

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Dearest Management, Is it really that hard to try a little to assist a guest that is a regular? 1 hour for my tea, thats after 30 minutes of trying to get a waitress to assist? No proper seafood of seafood night??? Gas is finished? What sort of excuse is that? We spend on average per day R10 000,00 to R 20 000,00 for our clients that visit us here. Is it so hard to show a little professional courtesy? Lets not start about the apparent MANAGEMENT decision to change the room rates when it suites them, or better still not offer rooms during peak season. This is again for a guest that is here practically every Monday to Friday. I am still waiting for my very small but important request for water to be left in my room. At least its not smelly this time. I now write this as I sit again waiting for over half an hour for my tea to be brought to me. Please address this. You may lose very valuable clients. We are the only ones in the dining area tonight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmolDistributors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to Durban recently and stayed at Coastlands Umhlanga. From outside, it does not appear that inside would be such a nice and warm hotel. the staff is absolutely friendly and courteous. the check in was swift and the rooms very comfortable. the view from the room is also very soothing and refreshing. the size of the room is also quite big. the breakfast is very filling and has many varities. I liked the place and would want to stay there again if I am in durban and wish to stay in that area. a big mall with all kinds of reastaurants are there. it is just 5 minutes away by walk. very convenient place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We value your feedback as it assist us tremendously in improving and maintain our facilities and service. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

When one arrives at the entrance to the hotel - no welcome. I say entrance as this is not the reception this takes place on the 4th floor. Very odd.

Room was pleasant and on par with most hotels. Great view once one opens the curtains. Huge bathroom compared to other hotels I have stayed in.

Two very small lifts - lifts are quite far apart so one does not really see one opening when one stands in front of the other. Small gym and cute plunge pool.

Breakfast selection was pretty good, with made to order eggs etc. Service - not so good. NO welcome, no body sat us down asked us if we liked coffee or tea - this was after waiting for almost 10 minutes with numerous staff walking past. We had to literally walk up to one of the staff and ask her for service.

Other than that great location, good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. We value your feedback as it assist us tremendously in improving our facilities and service.

We are currently in discussion with our architects regarding the move of reception to the Ground Floor which is used as an entrance. We apologise that there was no-one on the ground level to welcome you as we normally have Guest Relations staff positioned in that area.

We are delighted that you were impressed by the room and bathroom and that you were satisfied with the breakfast selection.

We have escalated your complaint regarding service delivery to our Group Operations Managers attention and assure you that this will be dealt with immediately and we hope to see you at Coastlands Umhlanga again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having need for a night accommodation in Umhlanga, I decided to finally give Coastlands a try. The black modernist design of the building exterior isn't quite my taste, hence my reluctance to book here.
Checking in seemed a bit odd with reception being on the fourth floor, and the room felt a bit dark with a rather unusual approach to decor. Pulling aside the black curtain lightened up the room, and suddenly it appears a lot more spacious and appealing, with a really amazing view. Much better than what is expected at this price point. All the amenities one seeks in a hotel room were on hand, and the bed is on par with what is expected. The bathroom is spacious and clean. Towel rail and soap holder seemed to fall off the walls, but that seems to be par for the course with a lot of the newer places these days.
After a pleasant night stay, time came to embark on a breakfasting expedition. Now this proved to be the pleasant surprise in the package. A really lovely spread of hot dishes, friendly service (a big thank you to Mr Gordan Pillay, our waiter) and all with a really lovely view of the amazing coastline. Probably the best halaal hotel breakfast in Durban!
All in all, money well spent.

Room Tip: ask for a good room, and they usually oblige corner rooms on the Eastern side are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Director of Sales at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Good morning

Thank you for your valuable response and for staying at Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel. The exterior architectural design may not appeal to everyone, although the design of the building is quite unique and has become a 'landmark' in Umhlanga. Our executive committee is currently in discussion with our architects to provide drawings to move the reception to the ground floor as part of our overall strategy this year. We are glad that you enjoyed the room, bathroom and amenities. The loose towel & soap rail has been inspected and fixed and we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced regarding this. Thank you for your compliment on our breakfast and waitron staff as well as your overall positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to Coastlands Umhlanga in the near future and hope that you will also try the facilities and service at our other Coastlands Hotels and Resorts properties.

Many thanks and kind regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I always say Durban was not built with me in mind. Yes, it is a great city but I will not go out of my way to plan a holiday in Durban. Well, this time I travelled to Durban to visit friends. I stayed at Coastland Umhlanga. The Hotel service was great. Room spacious and great views. I loved my one night stay here and Metrofm had a party taking place at the hotel. This was a cherry on top form me as I mingled with the who is who of the radio industry.

Room Tip: Wifi might be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohau_Motholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Good morning

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Coastlands Umhlanga.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you were impressed with the facilities and service and that you also enjoyed the function that was taking place at the hotel.

Our Wi-Fi is provided via a software supplier system "Always On" and we offer 100MB free Wi-Fi. Vouchers are obtainable at reception for the first 100MB whereafter guests purchase wi-fi access via the internet.

We look forward to welcoming you to Coastlands Umhlanga Hotel again in the near future and trust that you will book with us when traveling to Durban again.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Coastlands Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Umhlanga

Address: 329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Umhlanga 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel overlooks the Indian Ocean, with all rooms featuring partial sea and city views. With optimum space and a modern look and feel, this hotel is ideal for corporate and leisure getaways. The hotel features superb banqueting and conferencing facilities ideal for weddings or corporate functions. With evenings catered for by the highly acclaimed Saffron Restaurant and the Vanilla bar guests are assured to leave with a brilliant taste of luxury. Mornings are best spent in the gymnasium and alongside the deck pool offers the opportunity to enjoy the mid day sun. Above all the Hotel offers excellence in service and always goes the extra mile to offer guests an experience they will find difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coastlands Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing