We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Gateway Hotel!”
Review of AHA Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Gateway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just had a really good stay at this hotel.

I stayed in a very clean and neat room - perfect for the business traveler and couples.
- Very comfortable beds and top quality bedding.
- Room cleaning was excellent
- Workspace in the room was really good with a very comfortable desk and leather office chair.
- Modern room and bathroom layout and excellent shower.
- The General Manager, Mr Keith Bentley is willing to go the extra mile to assist customers and that is appreciated by a frequent traveler!
- The Gateway Centre is about a 2 minute walk away (undercover) and there are many options for restaurants or take aways.
- If the weather wasnt overcast I would have loved to swim in the rooftop pool!!
- Great central location to business areas, highways and the airport
I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyfall_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for AHA Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

This Hotel is close to all amenities, it is attached to Gateway shopping centre and close to UShaka Airport, There is a Netcare Hospital close by and lovely sea views of Umhlanga Rocks, The Hotel staff arranges transport for you to fetch you from the airport and to take you back also. Their staff is very friendly and the place is well kept and clean, the restaurants nearby have good food. It is good value for your money

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is a really great modern hotel. The hotel will collect guests from the nearby King Shaka airport for a fare of R250 per trip with the mini bus able to accommodate 8 passengers.

The hotel is attached to the Gateway Shopping Centre so for all shopaholics it provides easy access to the southern hemispheres largest mall.

The service is good and the breakfast buffet is very generous by any imagination. As for the room, it is a modern design with the shower and toilet simply behind frosted glass in the room. If you are sharing with someone you need to be comfortable in each others space.

The hotel is not close to the beach. There is easy access to and from the motorway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Checking in on a very wet evening was smooth and efficient.

The room was quiet, spacious and well equipped although the bathtub in the middle of the room was unexpected.

The included breakfast was extensive and efficiently served.

Complimentary undercover parking was a bonus as was the connection to the Mall where we were able to complete some last minute shopping

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel. I found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. The key for my room was faulty and they tried very hard to fix it timiously. The rooms are modern and the sheets clean. I was told that there would be a bar fridge and there wan't but no worry I didn't need any more alcohol anyway. The only thing that could be complained about is that the toilets and shower are in the same room. This could be an isssue if you have visitors. The location to the mall is excellent and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing te mall
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is amazing and is located in a great area,Right next door to the Gateway Mall.This hotel has so much to offer:

The rooms are inter leading in a very smart way that even I cant discribe.

If you get one of the good rooms like me,you will have an amazing view of the place.

I advise you to stay here and enjoy KZN'S FINEST!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamogelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

the hotel is located near the gateway shopping mall, that is great value, the staff are kind, attentive and go the extra mile by all means, specially the managers on duty. however they cant make up for the problems the rooms have! rooms that are close to the floor openings, get all the noise from the bar and or the reception, we had a hard time trying to rest with all the noise projecting in the rooms. and some rooms had a humid feel, water in shower was not consistent in temperature and no detail in cleanness.
I am sure there is room for improvement

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the floor openings
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nafha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Gateway Hotel

Address: corner Centenary Boulevard & Twilight Drive | Gateway, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Gateway Hotel)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AHA Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AHA Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing