We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of AHA Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AHA Gateway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Gateway hotel is adjacent to the Gateway Shopping Mall, one of the largest in SA.
The hotel is modern and clean throughout. Breakfast is buffet style. Staff were very friendly. Located 15 minutes walk from the beach

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMcAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    125
    55
    14
    13
See reviews for
47
87
13
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just had a really good stay at this hotel.

I stayed in a very clean and neat room - perfect for the business traveler and couples.
- Very comfortable beds and top quality bedding.
- Room cleaning was excellent
- Workspace in the room was really good with a very comfortable desk and leather office chair.
- Modern room and bathroom layout and excellent shower.
- The General Manager, Mr Keith Bentley is willing to go the extra mile to assist customers and that is appreciated by a frequent traveler!
- The Gateway Centre is about a 2 minute walk away (undercover) and there are many options for restaurants or take aways.
- If the weather wasnt overcast I would have loved to swim in the rooftop pool!!
- Great central location to business areas, highways and the airport
I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyfall_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This Hotel is close to all amenities, it is attached to Gateway shopping centre and close to UShaka Airport, There is a Netcare Hospital close by and lovely sea views of Umhlanga Rocks, The Hotel staff arranges transport for you to fetch you from the airport and to take you back also. Their staff is very friendly and the place is well kept and clean, the restaurants nearby have good food. It is good value for your money

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is a really great modern hotel. The hotel will collect guests from the nearby King Shaka airport for a fare of R250 per trip with the mini bus able to accommodate 8 passengers.

The hotel is attached to the Gateway Shopping Centre so for all shopaholics it provides easy access to the southern hemispheres largest mall.

The service is good and the breakfast buffet is very generous by any imagination. As for the room, it is a modern design with the shower and toilet simply behind frosted glass in the room. If you are sharing with someone you need to be comfortable in each others space.

The hotel is not close to the beach. There is easy access to and from the motorway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Checking in on a very wet evening was smooth and efficient.

The room was quiet, spacious and well equipped although the bathtub in the middle of the room was unexpected.

The included breakfast was extensive and efficiently served.

Complimentary undercover parking was a bonus as was the connection to the Mall where we were able to complete some last minute shopping

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel. I found the hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. The key for my room was faulty and they tried very hard to fix it timiously. The rooms are modern and the sheets clean. I was told that there would be a bar fridge and there wan't but no worry I didn't need any more alcohol anyway. The only thing that could be complained about is that the toilets and shower are in the same room. This could be an isssue if you have visitors. The location to the mall is excellent and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing te mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is amazing and is located in a great area,Right next door to the Gateway Mall.This hotel has so much to offer:

The rooms are inter leading in a very smart way that even I cant discribe.

If you get one of the good rooms like me,you will have an amazing view of the place.

I advise you to stay here and enjoy KZN'S FINEST!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamogelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Gateway Hotel

Property: AHA Gateway Hotel
Address: corner Centenary Boulevard & Twilight Drive | Gateway, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Gateway Hotel)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AHA Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your AHA Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing