We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AHA Gateway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manaar House Bed and Breakfast(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teremok Marine(Umhlanga Rocks)
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
169
155
64
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
155
64
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet and showerwave houseopen planshopping mallrooftop poolvirgin active gymmodern roomseasy accessawesome servicebusiness tripbar fridgewalking distancea great staychecking inroom serviceenjoyed my staygreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Hotel is conveniently situated and rooms have an upmarket feel. Staff are friendly and are there to assist. Needed an adapter and one was brought up to my room within minutes. Pity there is no assistance for luggage (none was offered on my arrival). Fantastic place

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We only spent one night at the gateway hotel, due to a last minute extension of our holiday. We were quite surprised at how stunning the rooms are, breakfast was good, staff were friendly, location was good, free wifi, however it was quite noisy in the early morning on the street side and the parking was a issue. We arrived quite late and the tiny hotel parking lot was already "full" we were told to park in the gateway shopping centre parkade, which we did not want to do because we had a rented car. There were cars with trailers that were taking up two parking spaces, and spaces that were prohibited beacuse they were loading zones and disability parkings. On our departure the next day, those so called prohibited parking spaces were now occupied by normal cars, one of which was a car belonging to gentlemen without disabilities who had also parked in the shopping centre parking and had no some how arranged for the hotel to let the park there. In addition to that some staff were seen parking in the hotel parking. We were not pleased with this, as well as the fact that the reception staff could not provide us with directions to get to the parking lot which is separate from the hotel entrance, perhaps they should provide valet service.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank variza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Calls itself a hotel, more like a night club! One does not expect to have to endure heavy dance music beating practically in the next room. I would not recommend this hotel at all! Upon asking the front desk to have the music turned down, the music is in fact turned up and we are informed that it will be turned off at midnight!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My boyfriend and I love visiting all new hotels and restaurants in Durban. We love the sun and beach and all things Durban! we visited Gateway Hotel in December and we loved the place. The room was great! We stayed indoors mainly and enjoyed lying in and being in no rush. The bathroom was huge and was just such a lovely experience overall. we enjoyed, more importantly, the breakfast!! he didnt appreciate the mall being so close haha but i only went down for ONE shopping trip haha.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kailene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Wow, was not so sure what were going to get by booking a hotel joined to a shopping centre, but it was a very good experience. The hotel was very well decorated, exceptionally clean and the rooms were very well equipped. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we had a good stay. The big bonus is the roof top pool and sun deck, which was very much enjoyed. You will not regret booking here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews