We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better meals we have had in some time...”
Review of The Grill Room

The Grill Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the better meals we have had in some time...”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was one of the better meals we have had as of late. It was better than anything we had in the UAE and we went to some of the best it had to offer. We got the prawn started and pulled pork for appetizers with the pork being the better of the two. Also, we had the ravioli and pork offering for the main and both played out well with the pork being the star. The deserts were also both nice and had great coffee/espresso compliments. The wine selection was also nice and we were guided to a great Chardonnay by Jordan (winery not person). The service and atmosphere were also both good as there was a live band playing. Not much went wrong with the food or service so it is hard not to go with a 5 as it was all quite good/refined.

Helpful?
Thank CWEB11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    78
    41
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok but Expected More”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booking and reception was excellent and warm. Setting lovely and up market. Dress code allows for dressing up or down (down seems to be the preferred South African way). At the start Service was brisk and sharp. As the restaurant filled up service slowed down and we had to decant dour own champagne. The crayfish thermidor was not the best - far too much mushrooms and my pork belly a touch tasteless and bottom over cooked. Was a lovely evening and enjoyed it but would not rush back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As one would expect from anything associated with the Oyster Box Hotel ,The Grill Room serves excellent food and has a very comprehensive wine list. The ambiance is very good and the staff efficient, attentive and the new sommelier very knowledgeable. The hors d'oeuvres trolly is not to be missed with a superb selection of over twenty starters.
The Grill Room is as good as one would find in both London and Paris.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful fine dining”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Loved the Oysters and Champagne which kicked off a wonderful meal and experience although the Jazz muzo didn't like requests, but was amusing all the same.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick_van_der_Merwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is probably the best restaurant in Umhlanga. Good food and service at surprisingly reasonable prices. The menu will suit people of all tastes, including vegetarians. There is a set curry menu - but at 250 Rand it's not particularly good value for money. I always go for a fillet steak which comes just as I like it. We always book an outside table as the views are very pleasant.

Before you eat have a drink in the bar on the second floor. It has outside seating and lovely views of the lighthouse. There is an interesting bar on the ground floor as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing