We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining at it's Best!”
Review of The Grill Room

The Grill Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at it's Best!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Superb food, great service. Perfect for special occasions, because the menu isn't your normal averaged price. It's fine dining...you get exactly what you pay for. The recommend the Rack of lamb.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salona1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    78
    41
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
214 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service! ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our last evening at the Oyster Box we diner at the Grill and what a lovely event this was. I had the steak tartare, Springbok loin and Crepes Suzette. All terrific and accompagnied with wonderful wines. Perfect up to the espresso.
And sigar and port at the Chukka bar.

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When you're feeling blue all you have to do...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Make a booking for this one as you don't want to miss out on the silver service and classic menu.
If you need to work off the steak done to perfection, you may well have the opportunity to dance yourself happy.
The top notch performance all around with immaculate attention to detail will please you and your guests.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chillicocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Afternoon High Tea”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This review is not about The Grill Room - rather it is about The Garden Court where an elegant afternoon High Tea is served daily. I could not fault the afternoon. There was a lovely selection of savoury and sweet dishes (including bread and butter pudding!). We were offered a glass of champagne on arrival and a choice of teas. I took my 2 nieces for tea (one was celebrating her 290th birthday) and I mentioned this casually to the head waiter. Half an hour later, the piano started playing 'happy birthday", a small cake with sparkler emerged form the dining room and etched in liquid chocolate on the plate were birthday congratulations! We were very surprised! Overall, the service at The Oyster Box is sensational - someone even took the time to give us a tour to the Lighthouse Bar (I wanted to see the kilim sofa). Highly recommended - but you need to book in advance!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Curry Rules!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The curry buffet was absolutely wonderful. This was one of the best restaurants we ate at during our stay. The food was wonderful, the location perfect and the atmosphere showed refined elegance. One of the highlights of my visit to Durban.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing