We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meat meat meat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butcher Boys Umhlanga

Butcher Boys Umhlanga
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar Ba Coa is a celebration of the age old relationship between fire and food. Traditionally Barbacoa is a form of cooking meat over hot coals or fire and was widely practiced by the Gauchos of Argentina. Meat prepared this way is traditionally eaten with Chimichurri (chimi - chur - ri) sauce, a delicious combination of olive oil, parsley, garlic, origanum, white wine vinegar, and sweet red pepper flakes.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“meat meat meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had a lovely dinner at Barbacoa in umhlanga last month with friends. Service was good and the food came out in a timely manner. Would highly recommend to all meat enthusiasts....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    165
    64
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Since my first visit to this restaurant about two years ago I always stop by for dinner whenever I am in Umhlanga. I have been to Argentina many times, so this is not truly authentic Argentine dining, but it comes pretty close in their selection and the staff and food are exemplary.

I ordered my usual Carne jalapeno - a choice cut of fillet topped with chargrilled jalapeno and Cabrales blue cheese sauce. They also offer a side of chips, baked potato or side salad - but they were kind enough to give me steamed veggies instead. This evening they had a problem with their convection oven and so the preparation was taking longer than normal. Both the waitress and later the manager came to apologise about the delay, but I assured them that I was happy to wait, provided the steak and meal was done properly. Not only was the meal done to perfection, but the manager provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine that we had been drinking that evening. The steak was amazing, juicy, pink and tender that the knife just slid through covered with a mouthwatering blue cheese sauce and a hot spicy jalapeno pepper on top. This was accompanied by low carb steamed veggies on the side.

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the meats and the wine selection and the entire experience was wonderful. With service like this - I cannot recommend them highly enough, and I will be back, for sure!

Thanks again for a great dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Casual atmosphere (great for taking our kids), very helpful & friendly staff with quick service, and thought the prices were very reasonable. Overall, for the price - I think the meat cuts were good. They were definitely not what you would expect for a gourmet restaurant with aged beef but then again, you would pay more for that experience. My wife enjoyed the skewers and I had the carne jalepeno which had a very nice sauce with slight bite to it. Wine/drink menu was reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gocougsNorthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average to good quasi-Argentine experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not truly Argentine, but this far from Buenos Aires (my second home) no one will know.
Very helpful and very friendly service and (manager?) was jovial and welcoming.
I thought the (light) lunch bill for 3 at 50% of the cost of an outstanding dinner in Cape Town for 7 was worth the cautionary note.
Empanadas over-baked, the pastry was in part too over cooked to eat affecting the filling.
Grilled Calamari too greasy for me, but that is something I have noticed about grilled food in general in South Africa since I arrived.
But, other dishes enjoyed by others in my small group were good. Picada type items (starter) pretty good value.
An agreeable environment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morgan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Service great, the waiter helped us expertly with our food order and a complementary wine. My rump steak was tender and delicious ... the entire experience was very enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Boys Umhlanga also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing