We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good value, but a little something missing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Addis Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice location, good value, but a little something missing”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Start with the positives:

Very nice location, with slight see view and nice verandah and pool. Friendly, approachable staff. Great value for money. Clean.

Although I generally loved Addis B&B, there was always a little something missing. Minor touch ups could have made the place much, much neater. I would really recommend a concerted effort to improve the condition of the building now, while the issues are still minor. It is a beautiful building and deserves to be maintained.

The lack of attention to detail also came through twice: one morning they ran out of filter coffee; and upon checkout the receptionist nearly forgot to charge for the drinks from the bar fridge!

That said, I still feel that Addis B&B is very good value for money and I can recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
15
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Service was wonderful, only problem was that I was in room 1 and could hear all conversations at the reception. But the ocean view makes up for it. My wife and I enjoyed it. The television sets need to be updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rolland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

On first impressions the Addis B&B is a decent establishment. However the room we stayed in needs some attention. Shower was stained, roof had marks as well as a couple minor snags. We informed management and our problems were dealt with during our stay. Jackie was very helpful and if it was not for her help, we would have moved out. I would recommend this B&B for the budget traveller.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stay in Addis B&B was very cozy, almost like being at home. Helpful staff, very good location, green surroundings and excellent view to the ocean. Rooms were tidy and spaciuos. That more could you want!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agnes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very good stay and hospitality. Good value for money. The place was always kept clean and a stone throw away from the beach, shops and the famous Gateway Mall

The staff always willing to help which makes one feels at home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starnberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Price very good, room very clean, only the first time to find the house is not easy, not far from the new Airport, very secure area, safe parking possible, excellent area for Dining in Umshlanga rocks,


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jürgen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had an enjoyable stay at the Addis in March 2014. I liked the leafy suburb where the establishment is located and the beautiful view of the sea from the garden and lounge area. However, for a 4 star establishment it was very surprising that the pool was not clean. The pool walls were green with algae for the duration of my stay. It was good to have secure parking but was sometimes difficult to maneuver in the small inclined parking area with all the cars. Finally I am still waiting to receive a correct invoice for my stay there (despite my numerous phone calls).










  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernardette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#7 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#2 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ridgesea Guest House
Ridgesea Guest House
#23 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Guest House
La Dolce Vita Guest House
#16 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gateway Country Lodge
Gateway Country Lodge
#9 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Bed & Breakfast

Property: Addis Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Tibia Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Addis Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing