We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Addis Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family & I stayed here at the beginning of August 2014. What a stunning place with friendly staff, secure parking for your cars, good food & an overall great atmosphere.This is really an awesome place to stay for local & international guests alike,

Room Tip: Any room here is a quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Addis Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Addis from the 18th-21st July. While the bed and breakast is decent it is certainly not a 4star as displayed. There is a serious lack of care and maintenance on the property as a whole and it looks dirty. There is grime on the skirting boards and there is a smell of "incense:" or a stuffy smell as you walk in the door. The bedroom linen was clean and fresh , however, we stayed in the executive sweet - you expect a certain standard but the draws in the bathroom are ruined and they are without door knobs - leaving it looking tatty and not maintained. The first day we came back to the room, beds were made but the dishes were not washed??

The breakfasts are absolutely disgusting and we did not eat there again after the first morning. You get one piece of bacon that is luke warm and a sausage that tastes as if it has been frozen for years.

The view of the property is amazing and the location is great but everything else needs work. The receptionist is not professional at all and it really just does not have a homely feel that normal bed and breakfasts do.

My brother stayed there for one night before we arrived and his room was so noisey he could not even sleep.

Overall , a bad experience and we certainly will not return again. It is a great pity as if someone spent a bit of time and maintained and cared for the property - it could be absolutely wonderful.

Not to be repeated - very disappointing and should not be a 4 star at all

Room Tip: If you need to stay here - only choose sea facing else it will be very noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyGon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Neat and well equipped and the staff was very helpful. The location is also very good and close to our normal visiting areas. I will recommend the place to all my friends. We enjoyed our stay and love the view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Errolnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about either. Decently comfortable, decent service, decently clean, offered to let us use their laundry facilities when we urgently needed to iron something, which was nice of them :). Very definitely value for money and perfect if you are just looking for a place to crash rather than a seaside resort holiday. Nice quiet suburban location, though probably not ideal if you are car-less.

Room Tip: There appear to be three or four rooms on the East side with a lovely garden and ocean view. The oth...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great Location in a quiet residential area, easy Access to the beach and Gateway Mall. Kitchen has everything you Need. Bed and sleeper Couch were comfy. Nice pool area and deck. Secure parking on site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tash167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Breakfast should have fresh coffee. Beds and showers are huge. Carpets in rooms are a bit old and need to be replaced. Parking area is good. Small things make the difference like bottled water in the room which wasn't there. Make people morre aware of the fridge as I didn't know it had anything in it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cdtyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a very good stay at Addis. Rooms nicely furnished and well-serviced by friendly staff. The family room is a little tight on cupboard space, but we managed. Other rooms we sneaked into had more space and good cupboards, but if you need your kids with you, this is a good option. Big good-value breakfast; great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Lodge
Flamingo Lodge
#8 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments
La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartm...
#18 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cameron House
Cameron House
#6 of 13 in Umhlanga Rocks
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Guest House
La Dolce Vita Guest House
#16 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#10 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addis Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addis Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Tibia Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £51 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addis Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Addis Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing