We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good portuguese food”
Review of Ponta D'Ouro Restaurante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponta D'Ouro Restaurante
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good portuguese food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What an awesome vibe! Great waiter and manager was on the floor and dedicated to his customers. Food was excellent!!! Disappointment that there was a small selection of cocktails. Will definitely return again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantellevdbijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dbn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst in Umhlanga”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Decided to give it a try to avoid the December queues ..... Never again! Very plain food, slow service and lacks decor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NixangelsDbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good casual setting”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Food is good unpretentious take on Portuguese/Mozambican fare. Meals are quite big and vale for money. Lacks a little atmosphere and struggles a little to attract patrons due to the number of restaurants more centrally located. The upside is that it is easy to get a table and a good meal without a booking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JOeDA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings and atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Not sure about the reference to Mozambique, but the food was good and the service OK. As mostly happens the workers lack training or interest. In our case the wine never arrived and we just did not have to have it!!! But overall was happy with the time spent at the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank RuiFragoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant, because it was the only one with no line, now I understand why. The service was not statisfying at all. The cost of food was way too high for its quality and we had to wait 80 minutes before our 140 rand prawn curry and other simple dishes were served. Glass with a crack. Simple tasteless food. I would have done better buying my curry in the supermarket. Let's just say I prefer a Mc Donald's take away!

Helpful?
1 Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponta D'Ouro Restaurante also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing