We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with views”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Unfortunately our group only stayed at this hotel one night. Very clean, large rooms with cooking facility in the room, quiet, rooftop pool (rather small) and nice views of the bach from the room and the rooftop. There were a lot of nice restaurants nearby as well as some shops. I have no negative remarks about this hotel. It was a nice change from what we had already encountered on our South African holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z_richEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    116
    77
    18
    5
See reviews for
52
87
8
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night as we had to go to a business function at a venue close by. We did not spend much time in the hotel, but we were impressed with the size of the rooms and the amenities in the room. The small kitchenette was nice, although we didn't use it at all. The partial sea-view from the room was also appreciated. The breakfast the following morning was as expected, with everything one offer as per usual. The check-in staff and general staff throughout the hotel was very friendly and we appreciated this as well. We did like the newspaper underneath the door in the morning.
We did not pay for our night's stay (as the business was paying for it), but the morning upon check-out I saw what the rate for the room was for 2 people and was a bit shocked. The amount charged seemed exhorbitant for a 3 star hotel. There are definitely better options for the same amount of money spent.
We enjoyed our very short stay, but for the amount charged, there are definitely better options.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2007

The hotel is situated at a central location near the beach which is very convenient. The staff were lovely everyone from reception to housekeeping one of their best features. Unfortunately for the price the conditions were not adequate and I would rather go elsewhere next time unless they improve.

The problems arose with the aircon which is only on if you are in the room due to power saving on the hotel's part. After a hot day on the beach or a night in the town one expects to come to an air conditioned room. The bathroom has no extraction fan which I found to be very bizarre as there is no window so at the least they could have a fan. The bathroom also has a very small shower and bath. I booked a double bed and instead got two singles pushed together so not great for those on honeymoon. Another downer was the fact that you have to pay extra for parking . For what is available in Umhlanga at the same price I would say this hotel is over ambitious with the rates they charge. I stayed four nights and was charged R4600.00 at another hotel by comparison which I found to be much better (walk across to Gateway, beautiful large bathroom with extraction fan, air-conditioned room) was R 2 969.00 for four nights.

On a positive note the pool deck on the 10th floor provides a beautiful view if you want to relax with a book in the sun. A laundry sevice is just downstairs so you do not need to use the hotel laundry service and the LM Grill downstairs should not be missed with the best peri peri prawns I have tasted.

  • Liked — Walking distance to the beach
  • Disliked — The bathroom with no extractor fan and paying for parking considering the price
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nicole077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2007

This is a nice contemporary hotel in Umlangha Rocks north of Durban South Africa. Aout a block and a half from the Indian ocean beaches of Umhlanga. Nice clean place and cheaper than some of the hotels right on the water. Front opens onto a plaza area with a nice selection of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Easy walk to the lighthouse and a nice swimming beach with shark net protection (a necessity in these parts) Avoid the breakfast at 85 Rand. There are cheaper better alternatives close by. The Gateway shopping mall is also close by for those that feel the need to shop or catch a movie. Rooms comfortable clean and air conditioned. Only signifigant flaw was lack of in room internet which seemed unusal since the hotel seemed to cater to business customers and conferences (and no pool). Fortunately there are multiple Internet cafes within easy walk. Not cheap but for the area a good value all in all.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MizunguhowRU?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Do not stay on the second or third floors. Most of the people in my group had bugs (ants & cockroaches) in their rooms. We had ants in our room on the third floor. The hotel moved us to the eighth floor which was fine, but the room was much smaller. The hotel is in a good location, close to the beach, shops & resturants. The views were nice though.I would not recommend this hotel. Stay at the Beverly Hills Resort, we had dinner there one night and it was gorgeous with excellent food and service. Security even walked us down to the beach and we didn't even have a room there.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sharilbaby129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Address: corner Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star paradise hotel is your gateway to golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of South Africa. If you want stunning views overlooking the KwaZulu-Natal coast, look no further than Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga. Centrally located in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the hotel is 18 km from King Shaka International Airport and conveniently situated minutes from the protected beach and 10 minutes from Durban. The hotel offers friendly service, comfortable accommodation. Most of the hotel's 174 modern rooms feature breath-taking sea views, and are all elegantly and stylishly furnished. Enjoy a choice between 44 Semi self-catering facilities which include a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery and tea/coffee-making facilities. We've expanded in October 2016 with a brand new 15-floor tower! In addition to a new reception area and lobby, the project has added an extra 130 bedrooms for your convenience. The Lighthouse Breakfast Restaurant & Bar is situated on the ground floor, adjacent to the reception hall, and offers delicious breakfasts. The restaurant seats 146 guests and is open from 06:30 to 10:30. The bar is open from 14:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing