We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Umtentweni
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best location but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have just returned from another stay at City Lodge Umhlanga. I always love it as it is in the best location for shopping etc at Gateway. The hotel entrance is just a few metres away from the restaurant court. the shops are a few more metres away and in the shopping centre there is plenty to do like - theatre, m ovies, ten pin bowling, wave house etc.
The breakfast is very good at this hotel.
The staff are always helpful.
The rooms exactly what would be expected at a City Lodge.
My only complaint this time was the noise from outside. I have never noticed it before but my room was on a different side of the hotel this time (overlooking the swimming pool) and i really found it very noisy. Not from the pool though. I'm not sure where the noise came from but it was as if we were in town.
Overall, I can highly recomment his hotel for people who need/want to be near Gateway.
For people who don't know, this is not a beachfront hotel.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that overlook Gateway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    81
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
26
5
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is at the Gateway shopping centre and makes it easy to access all the restaurants and facilities in the shopping centre. I think that the hotel's greatest feature is its location.
It is a fairly new hotel and contains all the necessary amenities, but it is easynto feel like you are just another guest - one of many. The rooms are spacious and good quality linen is provided. Everything in my room was in working order and there is basement parking for all guests. I felt safe at all times. I do feel that the check-in staff could have put in more effort to explain the layout of the hotel, dining room hours and the coffee shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside of the courtyard , overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

i stayed at the hotel< for 3 nights over the long weekend, in April and May, the room was of decent standard, and across the street from the Gateway Shopping center, extremely convenient, and relaxing

Room Tip: Take a pool facing room, less quiet than facing the Gateway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very conveniently located i.e. within 50 meters of the Gateway shopping centre. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. Service from staff was efficient and the breakfasts were great.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Table View, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is aimed at the business traveller. The room I stayed in was clean and well-appointed. I asked for a room on the top floor and was given it and it seemed there were very few other guests on the fourth floor. The bathroom was large and contained a fair size bath and shower.
If you are wanting to see the ocean from your hotel window, you will be disappointed as the views are either of the hotel courtyard and adjoining accommodation or of the Gateway shopping centre.
Having the amenities of the shopping centre right on the doorstep of the hotel is a boon for those who wish to part with their money!
Breakfast, at an additional cost, was fair - nothing spectacular but tasty nonetheless. The cost of the breakfast was not worth the offering though.
The reception staff were friendly and willing to help - both check-in and check-out happened smoothly and without a hitch.
I recommend this hotel for the business traveller who simply needs a place to rest each night and who likes to have easy access to shopping and restaurant options.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the courtyard if you want a quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I arrived after 8pm from the airport. Nobody offered to help me with my work case and suitcase, even though I was clearly struggling. I phoned, because I could not find their parking, they were unable to assist and I had to park in the street. Which meant getting up early to avoid getting a fine. Their rooms have no duvets, only blankets. Who wants a blanket in the warm temperatures of Durban. I've travelled a lot, and last received a coupon for breakfast at a Formula 1 hotel in Paris when my flight was cancelled. Imagine my surprise when I got the coupon. There was no holders for the keycards either. I can only say 2 good things about the hotel, I had a nice shower and the following day a friendly porter assisted me with my luggage. He obviously got a huge tip. Breakfast was also okay, just had to beg for a refill on the coffee. I usually stay at a nice guesthouse in Westville, but they were fully booked, they charge R200 less. And I did not like the other hotel I stayed in in Umhlanga last year March. I'd rather go back to them again if my guesthouse is fully booked.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is most probably the most well located hotel in the whole of Durban. SItuated right opposite the Gateway Shopping Centre in the business district of Umhlanga Ridge, you can work there at day and play there at night. I loev the standards of City Lodge and here they do not disappoint. Rooms are a fair size, bathrooms well appointed and the service very good. Breakfast in the morning is quite asread. The Virgin Active gym is also walking distance from the hotel. Better location than this you will not get anywhere else.

Room Tip: Any rooms fronting the Shopping Centre has a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Property: City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Address: 2 Palm Boulevard | P. O. Box 25173,Gateway M.C.P, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated next to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment complex, City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge blends into the surroundings of its modern environment. Durban is just minutes away on the adjacent freeway, as is the city’s international airport. The five-storey hotel is in the heart of the new business district that has emerged in the Umhlanga area. It is also a short drive from Umhlanga’s popular promenade and beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
City Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing