We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed twice at this hotel. The rooms are clean and relatively large. We like the rooms facing the Gateway mall with the balcony. The balconies are great for lazy days. The hotel is next to the Gateway mall and it's convenient for shopping and meals.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VimalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Happy New Year - thanks for your generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    82
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
26
5
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Despatch, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Has been staying at this hotel when on business trips to Durban. It is located close to the airport, across the way from Gateway shopping centre with great restaurants. Rooms are neat, not too small, breakfast is good, service and coffee is great

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is located in an affluent neighbourhood of Durban. It is a safe area. You have a big shopping mall right across the hotel and many restaurants around. You can go to the seaside in the evenings and at nights for some other bars and restaurants.
The lobby and the restaurant are ideal. They provide continental breakfast and the service is good. I advise you to enjoy your breakfast in the garden. The rooms are clean and satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel for a business trip. It is very convenient, close to the airport, highway and gateway shopping Centre so you can walk across and go for dinner. Staff are friendly and good value for money. My only complaint is the rooms are a "little old" and need some TLC in terms of decoration. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the pool as the rooms overlooking the shopping centre can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was my second stay at City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge and I had an idea what to expect. Knowing that the hotel will be busy due to the Durban Tourism Indaba, I requested a room on the inside overlooking the pool in advance (it is too noisy on the side of Gateway Shopping centre). Upon arrival, I was allocated my requested room, but that was it. The reception staff did not advise me of the facilities in the hotel, breakfast times or any other important information. I read about the breakfast times over weekends as well as the internet connection and fitness room in the service directory in my room. The reception staff should have at least asked me if I had any questions or need information.
Later, I wanted to use the printing facilities to print my boarding pass. I was advised that the printer does not work, but that I can email it to the duty manager who will print it. I did so and 15 minutes later had a knock on my door with the printed copy. This experience redeemed the check-in experience!
The hotel is conveniently located and it is easy to walk over to Gateway for dinner or shopping. The room that I stayed in was comfortable and clean. Everything was in working condition.
City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge is recommended for short stays and offers value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside, facing the pool - it can be noisy on the side of the shpooing centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADavis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your comments and for your constructive criticisms. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The City Lodge group offer rooms over weekends on auction @ bid2stay. We used this offer and stayed overnight to shop at Gateway. (The auction process is very simple to use.) As a result we stayed at a reasonable price and had a pleasant stay right opposite Gateway, so you can walk to restuarants and shops even in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review - we're glad that our auction site is working for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a prime location, but the hotel rooms are terrible. The cost is not very high though, this hotel really need room furniture up lift. There's lots of restaurant and night clubs close to this hotel without a need to drive

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you like our location, but not so glad that you don't like our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.1 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge

Property: City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
Address: 2 Palm Boulevard | P. O. Box 25173,Gateway M.C.P, Umhlanga Rocks 4321, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated next to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment complex, City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge blends into the surroundings of its modern environment. Durban is just minutes away on the adjacent freeway, as is the city’s international airport. The five-storey hotel is in the heart of the new business district that has emerged in the Umhlanga area. It is also a short drive from Umhlanga’s popular promenade and beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
City Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing