We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star Hollywood”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“5 star Hollywood”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Well received, great service from therein on, for all 4 days.

The rooms are well appointed and the food has even improved from our last visit.

Very comfortable, with an upmarket club feel. Quiet rooms, yet you can still hear the sea crashing outside. All the mod-cons with a luxar feel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for your review of Beverly Hills hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
242
451
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Checked into this hotel on Saturday afternoon. Location, location , location. Its right on the beach front, with lovely views of the ocean. Staff are friendly. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival , complimentary wine and fruit basket and hand-written welcome letter - such a nice personal touch. I stayed for 4 days and i cant fault them on anything. Free wi-fi access, business centre, coffee station, mini-bar( be prepared to pay - R 20 for a can of coke), dvds upon request(free), gymnasium , newspaper and turn-down service and info card with the weather and sunrise time!!!Absolute bliss. The staff in this hotel understand what world class service is , they get that they are not doing you a favour. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Guest Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write the review and hep to see you back at the hotel in the not too distant future Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Beverly Hills is definitely not a 5 star hotel. I would describe it more as a bulk Southern Sun 80s style hotel with no innovation. One would have thought that with the Oyster Box reopening up right next door, they would have upped their game.
What the hotel does have going for it is it's superb location and views. The views truly are breathtaking and we travelled with a toddler and so it made for very easy walking (promenade and out to restaurants at night with a pram).
Service in the restaurant at breakfast was poor (the only day it seemed better were when the Springboks were having breakfast in the restaurant at the same time). One battled to find a waiter but the food was good.
Ordering from the poolside menu was not a good idea - we waited an hour for a Hamburger that then arrived cold and staff wer unapologetic sporting blank looks.
The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even smaller - for a '5 star' hotel to have showers over the bath with an old fashioned bath mouldy bath curtain is unacceptable.
On several occassions we would find no bathrobes in the cupboard and when we called to complain the robes would arrives on rusty metal hangers??
Now you have the option of ordering breakfast in the room - however every night when we wanted to order - we needed to call and ask for the card - its the small things. And then the breakfast in room would arrive half an hour late.
The TV was a minute 17inch screen that even in such a small room was barely visible from the bed.
The babysitters were great - we were there with a 2 year old and really - I would use one any day, Elements restauarant downstairs was nice.
Overall its the location if anything that would make us return. I would try the Oyster Box.

Room Tip: Higher up is best and if you dont bath rather get the stand alone shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted and many changes have been made to the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back at the hotel to experience the changes for yourself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Beverly Hills rooms are tiny. Good views but I thing this hotel is out priced for what it offers. There are better places to Stay in than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Many changes have been made to the hotel and we hope hope to welcome you back for you to experience these changes yourself . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

OVERVIEW

This is a world-class hotel.

It overlooks the Indian Ocean in the seaside resort town of Umhlanga Rocks, about 15 minute drive from the centre of Durban and 20 minutes drive from the airport.

Throughout the hotel you will find interesting displays of historical photos of Durban and surrounds.

ROOM

My room was on the third floor directly overlooking the pool deck and beyond that, the ocean. It had a large, comfortable queen-sized bed, a decent-sized cupboard with ample hangars, a dressing table with TV and four drawers underneath, a huge desk with two drawers, a full-length mirror, a balcony, tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar fridge.

There’s a safe for your valuables with coded entry.

Access to the room is via a card which doesn’t even need to be inserted into a card reader: Just tap it gently against the lock and turn the handle.

It’s perfectly quiet and the only sound you’ll ever hear is the sound of the sea. It’s spotlessly clean and the comfort level can only be described as outstanding, except for one problem: Poor lighting. Only a single halogen desk lamp prevents it from being a total night reading disaster. I don’t understand why these guys don’t invest in some decent, modern ceiling lights to brighten things up a bit.

BATHROOM

There’s sufficient storage space to keep your toiletries dry. There’s no bath but in this humid climate you hardly need one and I never missed it. The shower cubicle is huge, but water tends to accumulate on the underside of the glass shower door and then spills onto the bathroom floor when you open it. So that leaves the floor wet and slippery. Another problem could be the glass wall on one side, which means that if you put the bathroom light on in the middle of the night, you’ll surely wake your sleeping partner.

The basin is tiny, which makes filling it up with water for shaving a bit of a chore.

TV

A good selection of local and overseas channels including Sky, CNN, a host of sports channels, a comedy channel for the kids and even channels in German and French. I had no problem with the remote.

INTERNET

On arrival you will be given a piece of paper with your wireless internet login code, which you can use for unlimited access throughout your stay. It worked perfectly every time. Just type in your code when you want to use the internet and away you go.

AMENITIES

Again brilliant amenities including a huge swimming pool in a perfect spot overlooking the ocean and with a lovely grassed area and chairs laid out for your comfort. There’s a restaurant, café and a gym that’s open 24 hours.

BREKKIE

There’s a wide selection of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals and cold meats to choose from. And if that’s not enough you can always order something hot off the menu.

LOCATION

The Bev is in a prime position overlooking the Indian Ocean. The new Gateway shopping megamall is a short taxi ride away (cost R50 or equiv about $US7 per trip) but there are also supermarkets and restaurants within easy walking distance.

SERVICE

This is where the Bev Hills really excels. From the minute you walk through the front door you will enjoy service that’s second to none. All the staff from the cleaners, to the management, to the check-in clerks are helpful, friendly and polite. They will go out of their way to make sure that your every need is catered for. And you get the distinct impression that these guys really want to serve you and they’re not just being obsequious for a good tip!

Some of the memorable little touches here include:

* Within 10 minutes of settling into my room, there was a knock at the door and two staff ladies appeared: one with a bottle of white wine in an ice bucket and one with a tray of fresh fruit and choc cake. All free of charge.

* Newspaper delivered to your door each morning, beautifully folded and sealed in a plastic wrapper.

* Room cleaned in the morn and again at “turndown” time which is around 7.00pm. Not only is the bed “turned down” and remade but your hotel-supplied slippers are neatly laid out on a crisp white cloth next to your bed, towels are freshened up, a handwritten note with the next day’s weather forecast is placed next to your bed with a choccie and a fresh supply of free mineral water. Oh, and your bins are emptied again!

SUMMARY

Magnificent hotel in a perfect spot. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and I can highly recommend it. History buffs will enjoy looking at the displays of old photos that can be seen all over the hotel.

BEST and WORST

Best features are the sheer luxury of the place and the outstanding service. Worst features are the poor lighting and the slippery shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artfornodriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Guest Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you could enjoy family time at the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Except - it was too short of a stay. We drove the short distance from the new Durban King Shaka airport. Valet was friendly and attentive. The manager (Mark) greeted us shortly after arrival. What a lovely feeling upon entering the hotel. Registration was done sitting down and talking with one of the managers - with a complimentary juice and a fresh cloth to wipe off your hands. We stayed in a Cabana (room 2) and it was beautiful. The room was well furnished, a bit compact and well thought out with a sunken living room that opened onto a patio. My view was directly over the pool and the stunning Indian Ocean beyond. The bathroom was divine. Candles, flower petals adorned the HUGE tub which was too inviting. Shower was the BEST one of the trip. Wireless, coffee/tea facilities, fluffy robes/slippers, everything to make one feel very comfortable and at home. We had dinner on the outdoor verandah -- delish! I slept like a log and didn't want to leave the next morning. I would HIGHLY recommend this property for both business and leisure travelers.

Room Tip: I loved the cabana rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglejody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel has a great location,good staff and service.
It is in serious need of a major refurbishment and redecoration.
It is old and badly dated.
Maintenance cannot bring it up to 5* standards.
It is too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Constructive criticism is most welcome as we are able to grow and improve our business.I am delighted to advise ,that refurbishment has taken place at the hotel and we welcome the opportunity to show you around this wonderful property again to judge for yourself. warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing