We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and great service”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Beverly Hills for 3 nights on a business trip. I will definitely go back if I stay over in Umhlanga in future.

The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The rooms have a great view and had all the comforts we needed.

The hotel restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Kwa Zulu Natal and the bar is perfect for stunning sundowners, after dinner drinks and lunch.

The parking area is situated next to the hotel and is safe and easy to reach.

Wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyVR-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We delighted we met your expectations and that your stay was comfortable and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our ' piece of paradise' , be it for business or leisure in the not too distant future
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

By far the best hotel on the beachfront. Great value for a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigGreensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The view is amazing. Right on the beach, you hear the loud crashing of the waves. We slept with the balcony doors open, to hear that soothing sound. Service is really great. They noticed our names on our luggage tags, and thus greeted us by name and had everything ready, including a welcome glass of champagne. The room is done really nicely in relaxing colours and of course the views!! The bathroom was small, and had that shower curtain! We also had a fruit bowl and complimentary bottle of wine in the room. We had a fantastic stay. It is a great place to have a chilled weekend. The only thing I did not like: I found the continental breakfast spread a little disappointing, as not a huge variety of choices. But other than that, would go back any time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay., at our beautiful beach resort, and look forward to welcoming back to the Beverly Hills in the not too distant future.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Always stay here when in Umhlanga - best breakfast on the balcony watching the sea and ships. Rooms a little dated, but overall as I said, the best hotel in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShukranAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Welcome back to the beautiful Beverly Hills hotel.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Well received, great service from therein on, for all 4 days.

The rooms are well appointed and the food has even improved from our last visit.

Very comfortable, with an upmarket club feel. Quiet rooms, yet you can still hear the sea crashing outside. All the mod-cons with a luxar feel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Thank you for your review of Beverly Hills hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Checked into this hotel on Saturday afternoon. Location, location , location. Its right on the beach front, with lovely views of the ocean. Staff are friendly. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel. Upon arrival , complimentary wine and fruit basket and hand-written welcome letter - such a nice personal touch. I stayed for 4 days and i cant fault them on anything. Free wi-fi access, business centre, coffee station, mini-bar( be prepared to pay - R 20 for a can of coke), dvds upon request(free), gymnasium , newspaper and turn-down service and info card with the weather and sunrise time!!!Absolute bliss. The staff in this hotel understand what world class service is , they get that they are not doing you a favour. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Guest Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write the review and hep to see you back at the hotel in the not too distant future Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Beverly Hills is definitely not a 5 star hotel. I would describe it more as a bulk Southern Sun 80s style hotel with no innovation. One would have thought that with the Oyster Box reopening up right next door, they would have upped their game.
What the hotel does have going for it is it's superb location and views. The views truly are breathtaking and we travelled with a toddler and so it made for very easy walking (promenade and out to restaurants at night with a pram).
Service in the restaurant at breakfast was poor (the only day it seemed better were when the Springboks were having breakfast in the restaurant at the same time). One battled to find a waiter but the food was good.
Ordering from the poolside menu was not a good idea - we waited an hour for a Hamburger that then arrived cold and staff wer unapologetic sporting blank looks.
The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms even smaller - for a '5 star' hotel to have showers over the bath with an old fashioned bath mouldy bath curtain is unacceptable.
On several occassions we would find no bathrobes in the cupboard and when we called to complain the robes would arrives on rusty metal hangers??
Now you have the option of ordering breakfast in the room - however every night when we wanted to order - we needed to call and ask for the card - its the small things. And then the breakfast in room would arrive half an hour late.
The TV was a minute 17inch screen that even in such a small room was barely visible from the bed.
The babysitters were great - we were there with a 2 year old and really - I would use one any day, Elements restauarant downstairs was nice.
Overall its the location if anything that would make us return. I would try the Oyster Box.

Room Tip: Higher up is best and if you dont bath rather get the stand alone shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted and many changes have been made to the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back at the hotel to experience the changes for yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £215 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing