We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I actually cannot fault this Hotel. The location is breath taking, the staff are awesome, the attention to detail and the little extra touches amazing, Maybe we were just lucky but the room was huge, a big balcony a view to die for and waking up to the sound of the ocean HEAVEN
This is truly a 5* property, free unlimited wifi in the rooms and free parking.

Room Tip: Ask if you can view a choice of rooms, they were comments posted that the rooms were small but our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereswally_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and proud that all our bedrooms have uninterupted sea views. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Grand Dame of the Umhlanga Beach front. Opulently appointed with great attention to detail. Views that rival any coastline on earth. The down side- tiny rooms, don't even try fitting a baby cot in the room! and huge rack rate, look out for specials, or stay somewhere else and spend your days at their pool!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeSegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Mr Segal
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry you found your room small.but hope you enjoyed the beautiful location. Warm regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Beverly Hills for four nights and were overall impressed by the location, the facilities and the ambience of this 5 star hotel. It is situated right next to the lighthouse and has access to a beach in front of the hotel. We used the hotel pool all the time and were impressed with the touches of complimentary suntan lotion and lip balm, ice cold cloths and ice creams. We found the staff to be very attentive and yet there were quite a few gliches during our stay. We asked for firm pillows earlier in the day and by night time when these hadnt arrived they finally came round with "foam" pillows. We ordered room service which they got wrong and our food came at different times. The manager on duty offered to give it to us complimentary but when we checked out it was on the bill. When we wanted service at the pool it also took long. So even though they try very hard it just misses the mark that one would expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for posting a review. We were disappointed to learn of the erratic service from in room dining and at the pool area and these concerns will be addressed. It is through constructive criticism that we can improve our offering to our guests.
We Thank You, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Beverly Hills for 3 nights on a business trip. I will definitely go back if I stay over in Umhlanga in future.

The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The rooms have a great view and had all the comforts we needed.

The hotel restaurant is one of the best restaurants in Kwa Zulu Natal and the bar is perfect for stunning sundowners, after dinner drinks and lunch.

The parking area is situated next to the hotel and is safe and easy to reach.

Wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyVR-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We delighted we met your expectations and that your stay was comfortable and memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our ' piece of paradise' , be it for business or leisure in the not too distant future
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

By far the best hotel on the beachfront. Great value for a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigGreensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The view is amazing. Right on the beach, you hear the loud crashing of the waves. We slept with the balcony doors open, to hear that soothing sound. Service is really great. They noticed our names on our luggage tags, and thus greeted us by name and had everything ready, including a welcome glass of champagne. The room is done really nicely in relaxing colours and of course the views!! The bathroom was small, and had that shower curtain! We also had a fruit bowl and complimentary bottle of wine in the room. We had a fantastic stay. It is a great place to have a chilled weekend. The only thing I did not like: I found the continental breakfast spread a little disappointing, as not a huge variety of choices. But other than that, would go back any time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay., at our beautiful beach resort, and look forward to welcoming back to the Beverly Hills in the not too distant future.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Always stay here when in Umhlanga - best breakfast on the balcony watching the sea and ships. Rooms a little dated, but overall as I said, the best hotel in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShukranAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Welcome back to the beautiful Beverly Hills hotel.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#8 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road | uMhlanga , Kwa zulu-Natal , south Africa, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £238 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing