We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, service and cuisine - that's The Beverly Hills Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, service and cuisine - that's The Beverly Hills Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Why the Beverly Hills Hotel ? I was greeted by name in reception, in the lounge , in the Sugar Club and at the pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has the freshest seasonal fruit and juices. The buffet also has an abundance of cold meats and smoked salmon. The hot breakfast includes a variety of eggs, meats, fish and a range of vegetarian accompaniments. The food in the Sugar Club is absolutely fantastic. The staff, including the general manager, reception, concierge, dining areas, pool and housekeeping go oit of their way to make one stay absolutely enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you most sincerely for writing a review on the Beverly hills hotel. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    181
    47
    27
    13
See reviews for
232
421
32
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Not wanting to burst some of the reviewers' lavish praise bubbles hovering over this hotel, I'd like to present perhaps a more realistic point of view, having stayed here many times. Firstly, the management has changed often over the last three years - not a good sign at all. Then, the rooms, specially the more expensive lower cabana's are in critical need of restoration. The airconditioning leaks badly. The patios are cracked and unsightly. The paint is peeling off and the minor furniture refurbishments are now well past their sell-by-date. And, there are glaring electrical problems. The rooms in the main building are small, but pleasant with dirty little balconies. Don't get coaxed into a room in the middle of the floor, because these are the smallest, with bathrooms that only slighlty outdo telephone booths for size. The upper cabana's are better designed with better bathrooms, but only offer queen beds except for cabana 10 [two bedrooms]. Afternoon tea was once an event at theis hotel, but is now simply pathetic. In this regard, the Oysterbox nextdoor puts The Beverly Hills to shame. However, the staff are pleasant, breakfast is good and the pool has been renovated about eighteen months ago. The bottom line is, what you're willing to pay. At a good rate, this hotel becomes acceptable. But too often, guests are extorted.
I know for a fact, that many of the hotels' regulars, have refused to come back here, despite the managements overcompensatory pleasantries. These just aren't enough to disguise the fact that this hotel needs an overhaul. And while they're at it, they could look at what they think passes for food at their poolside cafe. It is just sub standard. I wonder what Sol Kerzner would do to if he were asked to help this hotel return to the standard of style and luxury it once maintained when he first openned its doors decades ago.

Room Tip: Cabana 1 and 10 are the biggest. The first and last rooms on each floor [main building] are slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allgone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Guest Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you taking the time to write a review. Your observations have been very constructive and corrective measures have been put in place. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel to show off the changes. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My experience at the Beverly Hills Hotel was the best hotel experience I have had to date. All of my expectations were exceeded with class and style. I was blown away by the warm, classy hospitality.

Location: The hotel is located on the beautiful Umhlanga beach front with quick access to Durban and surrounding areas. Every room is positioned with a balcony facing the sea with amazing views of the lighthouse and pier. The gentle sea breeze and the sound of waves hitting the shore put me into a holiday mood immediately. The hotel has a classic traditional feel to it suitable for individuals or families. The interior is amazing with luxurious lounges and indoor as well as outdoor dining.

Service: The staff are cheerful, friendly and professional. My every need was anticipated and every request granted quickly and efficiently. From the moment I walked in the front doors I felt like I did not have a single worry in the world.

Rooms: The standard rooms are decently sized, they have a lovely classic feel to them with all the amenities that you could possibly desire, with 24 hour room service, mini bar, TV, desk and a luxurious en suite bathroom.The beds are so comfortable that I was saddened to return home to my own.

Dining: There are two separate restaurants on the premises, one for fine dining and one for casual, each with its own look and feel, separate menu's and both offering exquisite world class meals!

After my stay at the Beverly Hills Hotel I returned home feeling refreshed, spoilt and ready to continue with some hard work. If you are visiting Durban then you just have to stay at the Beverly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Guest Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. we are delighted to enjoyed your stay at our 'piece of paradise" and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

From stepping out of our vehicle to check out, we were treated like royalty by the staff and management. The pool service was excellent, and we quite enjoyed the ice cold lemon grass hand towels that we kept on receiving. The views from the room were spectacular, affording us uninterupted views of the pool deck and Indian ocean. The breakfast could rival that of any 5 star establishment. One night was just too short to savour this excellent property.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing, so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stsay. What a great start to 2012 ! Wishing you health and happiness this year and many reasons to return to the Beverly Hills hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is one of the hotels where the staff is super friendly and goes beyond their normal call of duty to try and make your stay easier. The way they treat you is personal and they seem really interested in being helpful. I have rarely found staff who are as courteous anywhere in the world.

The view is unbelievably beautiful. The rooms look out to the ocean and every morning you probably wake up feeling that this is the best scene in the world.

Also plan your breakfast and dinners well so that you get the choicest seats overlooking the sea as you enjoy your dinner. The menus might do with some more variety though.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 5th Floor if you get disturbed by the noises of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your feedback and delighted that your stay was memorable.We agree....the views are breath taking !

We look forward to welcomnig you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I spent my honeymoon at this hotel. It is well located at the foot of the Umhlanga Beach and positioned in a vibey area. There are lots of restaurants in the surrounding areas, and the Gateway shopping mall is also close by. Perfect family holiday spoil hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spent my wedding night at this hotel before flying out on honeymoon. Excellent is all I can say. Whilst we didn't stay long the service was outstanding especially as we arrived after midnight. Add to this the special turn down in the room as well as the complimentary champagne and fruits and cream which impressed me.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neshav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back for your Anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing