We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views of the Indian Ocean ...... amazing....”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Before traveling to Durban, had thought we would stay down town or on North Beach, but we were very lucky and fortunate that we stayed at the Beverly Hills Hotel Umhlangha Rocks. It's a great and a fantastic property. The location is soo good that you just keep looking at the endless Indian Ocean and all your tiredness goes away and you feel so fresh and energetic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to leisure traveller with family as well as business traveller. The rooms were really very good and tidy and then best thing was that all the rooms had balcony faceing the Ocean. The guys at the Reception were very helpful and courteous. The concierge guys were also very helpful for getting around the Durban and letting us book all the activities in the city. They booked us for the Ushaka Marine World and the Big Swing at the Mose Mabhida Stadium. I still remember the breakfast overlooking the Indian Ocean and I once agains want to go back to Beverly Hills Umhlanga. I strongly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on corner which has a biig balcony and a better view of the Lighthouse and and uniterrr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we agree - the view of the Indian ocean is simply stunning! We hope to welcome you back to the Beverly hills in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have been going to the Beverly Hills Hotel for the past 18 years. I spend time there with the family and we all just love it. The staff have always been excellent. I remember all the good times with Uncle Dennis, uncle Roy, Umzolo, Uncle Emmanuel, Vani, ...All the staff...they have become like family. The current manager, John, is excellent. Five star Hotel. Great attention to detail. Superb location...one of the best in the world.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Azleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so grateful to guests like yourself that return time after time. we look forward to your next visit.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great property, fantastic location, the service from the staff at all levels was nothing less than excellent. I travel extensively on business and have had the opportunity to stay at some wonderful hotels across the globe. This particular hotel would definitely be rated in my top 3!! I would recommend this property for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kusadasi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your amazing review. We do hope we have the privilege of seeing you on your next visit to Umhlanga .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Wonderful hotel, staying a night here is a really lovely experience. Catching sunrise from the bedroom balcony and doing some exercise on the outside spinning bikes in the morning just topped off our stay at this first class hotel. Staff were faultless.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just spent two nights at the Beverly Hills Hotel...had to drive 8 hours to get there on Friday and I hours home today! If I had the chance to check in immediately I would turn around and make the drive back. WOW! It may be possible to ruin an amazing location but I doubt it. But to make that location feel like your own it takes an amazing hotel staff. MD John has it sorted out and the troops are well trained and constantly at their posts. What I noticed most unlike many hotels around the world is the staff to guest ratio. What an amazing place and staff.

Special mention has to be made of Nikki Vermaak. For weeks I worked with her by email and phone organizing our special reunion/birthday event with friends who live in Durban. Nikki treated me like I was the most important client she ever had. WOW. That's 5 stars and 2 WOWs so far. I will not go into the details but Nikki is at The Beverly Hills because she loves "celebration hotels" and she makes The Beverly Hills a huge celebration. We will find our way back somehow.

If you are in the Durban area you will find tons of great places but you are not going to beat the Beverly Hills experience (location, facilities, STAFF, and Nikki).

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Just speak to Nikki before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you chose the Beverly Hills for your celebration and hope we will be your choice of venue for your next celebration. We, at the Beverly Hills, love any celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Overall absolutely fantastic experience. Loved services at your pool! And the fabulous breakfast. Small details left out with room service, i.e. replacing bathroom candle, replenishing coffee/tea stock.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is indeed our pleasure and privilege!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Dean, Kamantha and Arisha provided superb service. Dean was efficient and absolutely kind and caring in receiving us @ that late hour and really made our check in process a breeze. I value the warm reception, willl definitely return and appreciate the personalised service. Thank you kindly, Ranjan Sewgambar.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courage12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £215 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing