We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing first experience”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing first experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My boyfriend decided to spoil me for Valentines Day and arrange for a short break to Beverly Hills Umhlanga.Apon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff which made it an exciting start,the room was beautiful and the room service very prompt.How ever thats where the service ended.Our breakfast experience was terrible as the waiter completely messed up my vegetarian hot breakfast,not to mention that we had to ask for service.The Valentines dinner felt as if they shoved us down stairs in a corner and for got about us and to set the table correctly .It actully looked as if they had to many guest that booked for that evening and need to make a quick plan to arrange something in the bar seating down stairs.The dinning area was dull dressed in blue and the waitron service even more unbearable ,the look of disappointment on his face for the second time was just to much for me to keep quiet,as he had booked the break 1 month in advance and as well told them to arrange flowers for the room apon arrival(disappointment no 1).He looked disappointed when we arrived in the room and later i discovered that they forgot the flowers and just put a bunch of mix roses not the red as he specifically requested and all this a day later and after he had gone down to remind them of his special request as stipulated on the prior arrival form.Thank you very much but no thank you,we will not be going back there.

Room Tip: Tell them not to but you in the room with the a inter leading door to the next room as you might her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We have noted all your comments and are determined to rectify each and every point. I will correspond with you personally to put this situation right.. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
242
451
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

On reflection my stay was just OK. Apart from the superb pool-side service including ice water top ups and fruit kebabs, the rest of the staff seemed asleep at the wheel.I think for the prices they ask there is better value to be found elsewhere. This once great hotel is just so average at present. Can't say I'm going back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all constructive comments and were saddened to learn of your disappointing stay. Professional intuitive service is core to our property and your concerns have been dealt with in detail.We hope hope you will return to our hotel again in the not too distant future to judge for yourself that the hotel is worthy of her wonderful reputation Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Hotel located at the coast of Durban, overlooking great beach, delicious breakfast..
You may even see whale during our breakfast...seeing Dolphin is quite easy....

I know one of my friend called reception asking they could could turn off the noise , which he got to know to be the sound of ocean waves :-)

Room Tip: avoid see side rooms if wave sound disturbs you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilsatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you enjoyed dolphin watching while dining. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future Warm regards Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As a kick start to a 2 week holiday which included a cruise to Inhambane aboard the MSC Opera, we decided to spend 2 nights at the Beverly Hills hotel in Umhlanga. At the same time we also went for some extravagance and booked into one of their King suites.

Overall the stay was excellent. The room on the 7th floor, had an ocean view and overlooked the pool and the multi tiered patio. Despite some indifferent weather we were able to fully utilise the rooms facilities, which included a large flatsreen TV, DVD player and well stocked minibar.

The breakfasts are out of this world and the salmon that was served was top quality. The hotel is well located in terms of its proximity to the airport and malls. The hotel also offers a luxury vehicle for airport transfers free of charge. Hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that we were well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are sea facing which is a treat for every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The first view that greets you as look out of your room is this beautiful beach, with a picture perfect lighthouse in the corner of your view... Combine this gorgeous view (and the soothing sound of the ocean) with exceptional service and the warmth and exuberance of the staff, and it is easy to see why this hotel rates a 5 in the books of every visitor whose reviewed it...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyagi_Abhinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our superb location,intuitive service and passionate staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duiwelskloof, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had a 6 star experience from the time we walked in the door, to the moment we left! The management and staff were so at-tentative, to our every need, and were all so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much effort. We had in room dining all the time, and the food was first class. The view from the rooms was stunning, and we could watch the sunrise over the waves, Fantastic! The bedroom and bathroom were great, with complimentary wifi! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are Fantastic with sea views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted your stay with us was a memorable one, and glad your enjoyed the Cabanas. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I say this is the Best of the Best hotels. I have made it a habit to spend at least 2 to 4 niights every year. It is good for relaxing and reflecting on the year. The service is excellent and staff is empowered to serve the guest with the highest level of excellence. My wife loves it and my daughter could not get enough of the swimming pool and playing with sand in at the beach close by. We stayed at Caban 4 with stunning sea views....Beautiful

Room Tip: I have slept in all of them but I fell in love with Cabans
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we agree, the pool and pool terrace is a very special place. we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon. Warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing