We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special...”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

There is something extra special about the Beverly Hills Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. Although not everything is perfect, there is always a staff member / manager on hand to rectify the problem immediately. The location is unbeatable with service to match. The rooms are also well appointed and have exceptionally comfortable beds. The worst thing about the Beverly Hills hotel is having to leave.

Room Tip: Specify bath or shower.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we agree... when you step inside you sense you have arrived at a speical place. We look forward to your return . warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Beverly Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

the very best Beach Hotel in South Africa, FIVE STAR experience. Service unparalleled. John the General manager is like a superb father figure to his incredibly gifted Staff. Nothing is too much Trouble. they carried our deck chairs to the BEACH!, then brought us Ice Lollies when we were just craving one. then lunch delivered was on offer. the kids wolfed them down in a heartbeat. the rooms are magnificent, well laide out with everything though of. from the Charlotte Rhys bath cosmetics to the in house entertainment, one could not wish for anything here.
I have spent my life in this industry, and love it to bits, but nothing could have prepared me for this incredible welcome. I cannot say enough about John the general manager HEnry in the dining room for breakfast where nothing was too tall and Order, Dennis as well, then Bheki at the Pool, Claude the activities front of house manager was exceptional, he is from the congo and he is just superb!
a superb TEAM! PLEASE DONT GO ANYWHERE ELSE, its SOOO Child Friendly as well as relaxed for honeymooners and couples alike. its for everyone, and a real treat to stay! 6 Stars from me!
OH and the Inhouse dining SUPERB! best Chicke the children have ever eaten and we have travelled everywhere!

Room Tip: choose Room 809 it has the best view of the lighthouse and is a suite, stunning!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndoroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a restful 4 days on the pensioners special. Seaview room, and dinner included. Service was good. Breakfast lovely on the verandah overlooking the sea. We did not have to take the car out everything is close enough to walk to. Including restaurants. Private entrance to the walkway and beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MYCHOICERsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future Warm regards John de Canha General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Beverly Hills iz the best.since the minute I got ther I felt lyk I was home,beautful pple,top services n awesome management I had quite a gud tym with my family,the rooms are so unique it made mi feel great its the place to be.the food is yummy served in a hot plate and its quicly delivered

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steenbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your wonderful review We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. warm regards John de Canha ,General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in Feb 2013 and stayed as a business traveller. I would have no hesitation in bringing my family to this hotel. It had some very nice business facilities and they cater for business functions well.

It has a very clean and large pool on the beach-front.

The hotel is very clean and the rooms are bed and breakfast style (more classy than modern).

The hotel has free WiFi which is a plus. The hotels bars are very nice for an evening nightcap and the lights on the ocean and the waterfront and very pretty.

It is right on the beach-front, so very easy to take a morning walk on the beach-front walking track. There is an ok wave to surf about 500 meters walk north of the hotel.

The area is very safe and you have no issues walking around at night plus there are a couple of great restaurants nearby. If you are coming from Australia you will be surprised how cheap food and wine is in Durban

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Durban was entry into South Africa during this visit and I couldnt have chosen a better hotel than Beverly Hils in Umhlanga. The view from the rooms overlooking the sea is breathtaking. Breakfast buffet is average but it is more than made up by the genuine hospitality of the staff at the front office and restaurants. Mr. John de Canha, the General Manager of the hotel is always at hand to welcome guests and see them off. This is a hotel I will come back again and again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John De Canha General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After some rather tumultuous and emotionally draining events in our lives recently, husband and I decided to treat outselves to a right royal evening and booked in, impromptu, to the Beverly Hills Hotel, Umhlanga Rocks. We took a normal room on about the 5th floor. It is a majestically beautiful place, beautiful decor, architecture, staff well trained and one of those places that transports one to a place of glitz, glamour and fame - well of course, we don't have any claim to that, but it didn't hurt to feel as if we were the most important guests in the hotel. We think everyone is treated in this way and felt most special - from having our car parked for us to being ushered upstairs with a real "bell-boy" and his fancy brass trolley with our 1 silly suitcase to our room. The rooms are not all that spacious but well appointed with Nespresso machine, good bathroom products, good lighting, excellent linen (which is of paramount importance), quiet aircon., and the most stunning view of the beach and coast one could possibly ask for. It was just the ticket and we felt like a million dollars! Dinner was a very lavish affair, being able to dress up and the food itself was sublime. Everything was served with great aplomb and dignity, which we loved. The dining room is wonderful with it 's beautiful old chandeliers and subdued lighting and damask table linen; the waiters speak in well modulated tones and must have had the best training in town. Our food was cooked to perfection so it was not surprising we ordered crepes suzette for dessert to see how well it would be done. Faultless!! So delicious we can still taste it. After dinner we mustered up all the energy we could find and took a walk on the beach and the "boulevard" and tumbled into bed feeling more or less human for a change and slept like babies. After a leisurely pampering in the wonderful bathroom and coffee on the verandah watching the sun come up and breathing the sea air, we ambled down to breakfast and had an absolute feast. Asides from an equally grand Four Seasons hotel we once visited and lived only for their breakfasts, the breakfast at Beverly Hills takes the cake! Stupendous array of freshly baked pastries (our favourite), fresh fruit galore and thereafter any and everything one could think of to eat for breakfast which clearly caters for many cultures and religions. We didn't want to leave this hotel so stayed as long as we could before checkout time was well and truly over, even then, we hung around the outside terrace and pool, and had a few coffees more before dragging our feet to our vehicle after checking out. We can honestly say it was worth it, perhaps 3 nights would have been better however that 1 night helped us feel hugely better just because it is one of those hotels where one can go and lose oneself in the splendour of yesteryear. Old fashioned manners, old fashioned service with professionalism par excellence. Well done, Beverly Hills Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the most you can afford, one up from a normal room/suite would be good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £220 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing