We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE at BEVERLY HILLS HOTEL”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE at BEVERLY HILLS HOTEL”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

AWESOME is all I can say... from the location, the service, the people, the food, the drinks, the location... the managers... AMAZING place and PLEASE I hope they can keep up the great work! I will be back and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: every room is good with views to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alzira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope it's not too long before you return to our beautiful hotel. warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
241
450
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I was in Durban for Indaga Tourist Travel 2011 and for 3 day i sleep in this hotel . My rooms was 603 and hall was perferct. Breakfast perfect and location perfect for Indaba but also for Gateway Shopping Center.

Room Tip: the best is 6/7 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future .warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Spent only two nights with my wife at Beverly Hills, and it was so hard to say good by! I am a frequent guest of Tsogo Sun and my stay at BH confirms my preference for their hotels. No other place in Durban enjoys the privileged location (by the iconic lighthouse in Umhlanga rocks), excellent service (professional, but warm and close), superb dining experience (our dinner at the restaurant terrace, while the moon rises over the ocean remains engraved in our minds and souls!) and unsurpassed views (all rooms with ocean views!). Great value for money. My recognition to John, the GM, and Claude, Head Concierge for your excellent job and warm welcome. I can not wait to come back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree, the full moon shining over the sea was a special sighting. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My Aunt and Uncle treated us to four magical days at the Beverly Hills Hotel over my birthday on 3rd May !! Wow it was an unforgetable experience from the minute we arrived with champagne (offered to us by Claude) to quench our thirst, warm face cloths to freshen up! we then enjoyed cappuccino's in the lounge, checked into our spacious and spotlessly clean sea facing rooms, with the most breath taking views !! We didn't want to leave the hotel at all during our stay. The breakfast buffet was overflowing with delicious croissants, danish pastries, a wide variety of fresh fruit and yoghurts, any type of egg your heart desired to name a few options !! our dinners were enjoyable from start to end. Danny ensured that my birthday was most memorable as he arranged with the person playing the live music for the evening to play 'happy birthday to you' as well as presenting me with a rose. During the day i was blessed with a delish chocolate mousse cake (which i enjoyed with my family at the pool after our lunch) decorated with the wording 'happy birthday' as well as a bottle of bubbly. The staff are so obliging (nothing is an effort), helpful, well manered and kind. What a team !! You truly feel so welcome !! We were very sad to depart on Sunday afternoon, but I sure look forward to our next stay at the Beverly Hills !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest We are delighted you celebrated your birthday with us and that is was a memorable weekend . we look forward to your return soon! warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed in a cabana, room was abit small at 7000 zar a night, however it was in season, location is great view beautiful and we were treated really well, the service was superb so overall we had a great time

Room Tip: Rather choose a ground floor cabana the rooms are more open plan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shezachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Lucia, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We live in La Lucia so the Beverly Hills is a nearby getaway. It is our favourite spot to escape to, so much so that my fiancé and I (whom I met at a dinner there) have a "sun-downers date" at least once a month at the BH. The cocktails are delicious and there a re a variety of options, the view is amazing, the ambiance, décor and background music really does transport one into a relaxing and blissful place. The service is priceless and we always feel so welcomed and comfortable. The maître d' of the sugar club even came across to us in the lounge to offer something for my fiancé to put his leg on (he is in a moonboot). We met the GM and he is a lovely and very professional gentleman. Definitely our favourite place! Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are always delighted when 'locals' take the time to let us know what they think. Your support is greatly appreciated. Please introduce yourself when next at hotel - we would love to get to know you. warm regards John de Canha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

There is something extra special about the Beverly Hills Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. Although not everything is perfect, there is always a staff member / manager on hand to rectify the problem immediately. The location is unbeatable with service to match. The rooms are also well appointed and have exceptionally comfortable beds. The worst thing about the Beverly Hills hotel is having to leave.

Room Tip: Specify bath or shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we agree... when you step inside you sense you have arrived at a speical place. We look forward to your return . warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing