We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class location”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“First class location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the views from every angle. Absolutely the very best SA can deliver. The attentive staff and guest relations also to be commended. The atmosphere in the shared areas is very classy and the the ambience excellent.

The rooms are rather small and in need of a decor revamp to suit today's tastes whilst maintaining the heritage feel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
242
452
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the incredibly friendly welcome to the complementary wine and massive snack platter in our room to the great service we loved this hotel.

The setting is amazing and the hotel is beautifully designed to maximize your views. Umhlanga is filled with lovely shops and restaurants and plenty to do during the day or night.

One of the best hotels in Durban without a doubt. Really worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review. We agree with you, our views are beautiful and every room has an uninterupted views of the Indian ocean! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This hotel has a beautiful location, directly on the beach. The rooms are not huge but it has everything you need including a coffee machine.

The thing that makes this hotel very special is the attention to detail and the little things that the staff do to make your stay memorable. We were sitting next to the swimming pool and the staff brought out ice creams. My daughter cut her foot and the staff went out of there way to make her feel better.

We booked with our Discovery Travel benefit which made the price of this hotel much more affordable. This hotel is very expensive if not booked with this benefit.

Breakfast was extensive and delicious!

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor had an additional sleeper couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future warm regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Location overlooking the Indian Ocean is great. Sunrises are amazing. Hotel restaurant is very average compared to the Oyster Box Hotel next door. Pool area is blessed with the natural beauty of being on the Indian Ocean. The hotel has no spa and that is a big minus for a five star hotel.Management is not attentive. Guest relations are manned by poorly knowledgeable suits who know very little about the area or about stand alone fine dinning restaurants. We had dinner at the Oyster Box hotel Grill Room next door and that was truly a fine dinning restaurant with great cuisine. Non guest relations staff is very friendly but not empowered to solve problems. Next time the choice will be the Oyster Box Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and check into the Oyster Box Hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Your comments are noted. We to offer all guests professional intuitive service, and to exceed expectations. I do hope you will contact me personally hen next visiting uMhlanga so that i may show you the hotel is truly worthy of her wonderful reputation. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a perfect position on the Umhlanga beachfront , the rooms are tiny , bathroom has no seperate shower and fittings are old. The bed linen feels cheap with no duvet / comforter only a sheet wrapped around a blanket . There are better alternatives available for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Valued Client Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read your about your bedroom experience. we pride ourselves in our fittings and like to ensure each guest receives choice of pillows, and linen. I would very much like to speak to you in person and would be most grateful if you would contact me directly. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Lovely - elegant hotel, friendly staff & good service. We popped into the hotel for High Tea. Very reasonably priced, selection was average & not much for vegetarians in terms of the savoury selection. The sweet selection was delicious, macaroons were divine & view from the dining area was beautiful - pity it was a rainy day, non the less it was a great afternoon with family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our tea -we think our macaroons are yummy too! We hope to see you back at the hotel on a sunny day to enjoy the view and the Vista terrace. kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May on business and really appreciated the great service, from the moment you walk in you definitely feel that this is a hotel that cares for it's guests! The view was stunning over the beach, rock and lighthouse. Rooms are very comfortable, free wifi and coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Overall great experience and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back at the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards General Manager, John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing