We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking for my manager”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Booking for my manager”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When the Oyster Box Hotel was fully booked I needed to search for an other hotel for him and his wife to stay and saw the Beverly Hills Hotel. I am so scared just to book any hotel because the pictures and the reality is not always the same...

But glad and relieved I felt when they came back and said it was beyond their expectations! Everything was perfect and the breakfast wasn't even a match to other hotels they have visited even in Mauritius! From their late check-in through till their check-out was perfect!

Thank you Beverly HIlls Hotel!! Defiantly will I make a booking again for them and hope to visit myself one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Marissa Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your managerS enjoyed their stay.Our breakfasts are really special, offering a wonderful selection and dramatic sea views. We certainly hope we can welcome you to the hotel soon. Warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    186
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
235
431
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during a business trip. Although the hotel is the oldest I the area and could do with a fresh coat of paint - everything else is magnificent

- impeccable service
- stunning location
- great food
- room was magnificent

We will go back!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for relaxing between business meetings. Great food and perfect size bed for tall people. A long and good bed. Whales were swimming by at breakfast time and the boardwalk is excellent for running and fitness activities. Visit this place - it is expensive though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The whales in front of the hotel have offer magnificent sightings this time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came to the Beverly Hills for breakfast on my last morning in South Africa and I was so pleased we saved it til last....the glittering ocean just in front on us and the delicious food and champagne were unforgettable. We went for the 'build your own' option meaning for 210 rand you can have pretty much whatever you want. A starter of muesli with fresh fruit and yoghurt was followed by a variation of eggs benedict - with mushrooms and melted cheese in place of the ham providing a delicious and unusual vegetarian twist. A final platter of scotch pancakes ('crumpets'!), and waffles ('Flapjacks'!) with maple syrup, cream and berry coulis finished the meal perfectly. We were not rushed and allowed to enjoy the meal at our own pace, topped up with as much tea, coffee, juice and champagne as our hearts desired. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree with you - there is no better location the Beverly Hills. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

John da Canha and his Beverly Hills team - one of the best in the hospitality business in South Africa. Best views, beautiful seaside walks, and SAFE. Even the King of the Zulu's finds it the 'place to stay' - fit for King! Good enough for you? Don Gray

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0nGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Mr Gray Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The view of the Indian ocean from the room balcony watching the dolphins by day, the illuminated ships by night as well as the sunrise were fantastic. We were provided with Champagne, cake and strawberries upon arrival for my wife's special occasion. Dinner at the Sugar Club is highly recommended. A fantastic husband and wife weekend getaway

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your celebratory weekend away and hope we can be part of your future celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future . Kind regards General Manager John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently spent a weekend at the Beverly Hills Hotel in Umhlanga and what a lovely time it was! The staff are so friendly and helpful and really make your feel at home. We had a room on the 5th floor with stunning views, although the balcony was a bit small.

I also mentioned that it was my birthday and was surprised with champagne, a birthday cake and birthday balloons!

The breakfast buffet is magnificent with a variety of options! Everything was delicious!

The rooms are a bit small, but very nicely done and I loved the little touches (nespressos and biscotti!).

I loved my stay and can definitely recommend the hotel!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors as the views are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you celebrated your birthday with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing