We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME TIME”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Bergville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME TIME”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

EXCELLENT EXCELLENT service, they do EVERYTHING for you and are always there for you.
what ever you need. AMAZING food and really friendly manager. small things like giving you flavored water while you tanning by the pool and bringing fruit while you enjoying the amazing view.

Room Tip: get a room on level 5 or higher. amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Tim Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and in particular our pool experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future .Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    186
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
235
432
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had high tea with visitors. No sugar with tea and coffee. No cutlerywith food. Getting waiters attention was a disaster on its own. Manager came to help twice but never really rectified the poor service issues. Great place to meet and stay but service is shocking and is not the first time we have experienced it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avk12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to learn of your experience and would really like to make contact with you .The Beverly Hills prides herself in intuitive professional service and we welcome the opportunity to show you our sincerity in rectifying your concerns. Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I can't praise the staff and management of this hotel enough. Everyone is so efficient and so professional and catered to our every need. My holiday at the Beverly Hills hotel was the best hotel experience I have had. The facilities, location, service and hospitality are all world class.
Thanks Beverly Hills hotel for making our holiday experience unforgettable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trader_JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us .We pride ourselves in intuitive , professional service, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed over for two nights and really enjoyed the friendliness and professionalism shown by the management and staff. We liked it so much that after our tour to Joburg, Cape Town and back to Durban, we rebooked for another two nights, this time with our friend from Australia as well. Very central to shopping malls, beaches, airport and freeways, clean and breathtaking views from all rooms. Pampered to the max, thanks again guys for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the middle, higher up, as this will give you the best views to the north and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest -Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass the compliments on to our team.We wish you well with the arrival of your new baby and hope to welcome 'your family' back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend an evening at The Beverly Hills Hotel.

Our reservation confirmed we excitedly awaited the arrival of the day for us to check in. We were contacted the day before to confirm our arrival time, allergies and anything above the Guest Preference form we completed prior to our arrival, that we wanted changed or added.

We arrived at the hotel just after 2pm to a wonderful reception by the staff and General Manager of the Hotel, check in took less than a minute and after being offered a refreshing scented cotton towel, we were given a tour of the hotel facilities (with complimentary Champagne and Ice Tea to hand).

We wondered why we were not taking the elevator up to our reserved standard King room, but duly followed the staff to what can only be described as 'gobsmacked' ...as we stood at the entrance of a poolside suite. My wife and I still commented to each other that perhaps they are doing a detailed tour of the hotel - but that was soon dismissed when the door was opened and we were greeted with balloons, a personalized cake and hand written card from the General Manager. Then the penny dropped; "I think this is our room love" were my words.... We were shown the workings of all the nick naks in the room and the kind gentleman left us to enjoy our suite. Even the temperature in the room was set as to what can only be described as 'perfect'. Its the little touches that count - arriving to the TV being on a suitable channel, the room smelling AMAZING and not a speck of dust to be seen.

There is not enough time nor space on this page to go into the intricate details of the complete elegance and attention to detail we found in this suite. It was incredible. We have attached some photos for future travelers to marvel at.

We settled in and unpacked, wife feet up and enjoying the cake whilst I decided to take advantage of the swimming pool. Expecting a chilly dip in the pool, I was surprised to find it heated to a gorgeous temperature of 30 degrees ! Fantastic ! We spend the afternoon with our feet up next to the pool and in our lovely room.

As the evening approached we prepared for dinner that was set for 18h30 in the hotel restaurant. The shower in the bathroom had numerous settings - make sure you set it on fine mist for an incredible shower experience ! One feels as if you are showering in a rain forest - totally relaxing.

We headed off for dinner (review on The Sugar Club will follow in a few weeks time, as Trip Adviser only lets one review the same restaurant once a month, and we have dinned here a few weeks back and had posted a review); we had a fantastic evening and felt, as my wife put it "Like Prince William and Kate".

On retiring for the night we returned to our room to find a full turn down service, candles positioned throughout the room and bathroom, roses scattered on the bed, swans made formed from towels on the bed...a fresh bottle of Sparkling Wine, the bed beautifully turned and high quality chocolates placed on the pillow; slippers placed on either side of the bed, and a foot mat next to each side of the bed - with the words goodnight embroidered on the mat !! The bathroom had been completely cleaned from top to bottom - and we had only used it a few hours earlier. A personal note from the chamber maid giving us details of the forthcoming days expected weather an such. We did have the option of ordering breakfast to our room, but chose not to.

I awoke early and went for a run on what can only be described as one of the most amazing seaside promenades in the world, followed by a welcoming dip in the heated hotel pool. Whilst in the pool I was watching the staff preparing the outside tables for the breakfast service, placing gym cycles out for guests to use and going about their early morning business - all this without any noise and fuss to myself or other guests. On returning to the room I found the Sunday Paper waiting at our door - what a nice gesture of the hotel.

We headed up for an early breakfast, 06h30 (once again this review will be done separate to this review), suffice to say it was scrumptious and the breakfast restaurant staff service impeccable. We then headed off to an off site location for a relaxing massage. We returned to the hotel to put our feet up for a wee while, before having to sadly pack our bags to prepare for our departure.

Check out was smooth, professional and efficient - again completed in less than a minute. Our car received a very unexpected complimentary wash and was collected for us from the parking, and driven up front.

We drove off after having the most fabulous night's stay at The Beverly Hills:

- Service like we have never encountered before
- Food of the highest quality and tastefully presented
- A warm, elegant, hospitable feeling to the hotel
- Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff
- Little surprises that keep you amazed at the attention to detail, and how much is happening
behind the scenes to make our stay even more enjoyable than we anticipated
- The General Manager being visible and available at all times

We cannot wait to return !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJayneFrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Frew Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know you had a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When the Oyster Box Hotel was fully booked I needed to search for an other hotel for him and his wife to stay and saw the Beverly Hills Hotel. I am so scared just to book any hotel because the pictures and the reality is not always the same...

But glad and relieved I felt when they came back and said it was beyond their expectations! Everything was perfect and the breakfast wasn't even a match to other hotels they have visited even in Mauritius! From their late check-in through till their check-out was perfect!

Thank you Beverly HIlls Hotel!! Defiantly will I make a booking again for them and hope to visit myself one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Marissa Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your managerS enjoyed their stay.Our breakfasts are really special, offering a wonderful selection and dramatic sea views. We certainly hope we can welcome you to the hotel soon. Warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during a business trip. Although the hotel is the oldest I the area and could do with a fresh coat of paint - everything else is magnificent

- impeccable service
- stunning location
- great food
- room was magnificent

We will go back!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing