We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

the room was sea facing and had a well cleaned balcony overlooking the indian ocean with a beautiful view,the food & beverage was a best in terms of service and my palate was absorbed into taste fillet...


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
It is our privilege to part of the hotels 50th birthday celebrations and we hope to see you back very soon

Kind regards John de Canha General.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    188
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
237
443
32
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I live in South Africa.Last week my wife and I spent 3 nights at the Beverly Hills hotel in Umhlanga which is a 5star establishment.This hotel will be celebrating its 50 years of existence in December2014.No doubt it is stll the Grande Dame of hotels in South Africa.Exquisite,great service and has character.This hotel is worth a stay.It is on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHMEDSULIMAN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We are glad you agree that our location is simply stunning and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon .

Kind regards John de Canha, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A favourite of ours this is by far the best hotel in terms of customer service and luxury and can compare well internationally. As always an amazing experience! Staff are always going out of their way to assist. A warm and friendly atmosphere where you always feel like a VIP

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Aradhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.
we celebrate our 50 year milestone this year and we hope to see you back very soon .

Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Kishan and Colin are stars. Their warmth, hospitality and courtesy was much appreciated. I asked the food and beverage manager if he could get some oranges for me and he give me a bit of a speech about how it was not the right season being your summer and this is a winter fruit. I only wished if he had sent one of his staff to P and P or Woolies up the road as it was available in abundance and I also did not appreciate his little speech about what fruits are in season. I am guest and not a student interested in agriculture. In room dining requires a lot of work from the management albeit the staff was very pleasant but slow and none of the trays included condiments, salt and pepper, and napkins. For every time we had in room dining we had to call back for something else which took another 20 minutes making the dining very mediocre. The AC in my room 204 was leaking and I complained three times without any solutions. I finally let it go as we were leaving, unfortunately it did destroy the carpet in the room. Housekeeping need to kick up their act as the bathroom floors were always left sticky, the balcony windows not cleaned. This is our fifth time in the Beverly Hills and we always have considered it as home away from home. Unfortunately the standard of rooms, in room dining and housekeeping are not five star. Having said that most of the staff were amazing especially the breakfast crew. We would consider a return visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Faiza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .Constructive points are welcome and aid us in improving our standards. Your notes regarding housekeeping and in room dining have been attended to. Thank you again.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon .

Kind regards
John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dcusa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have stayed here before.....and it just keeps getting better. The STAFF is what make the B HIlls work. They are outgoing, friendly, and courteous. You are always welcome upon entering. EACH morning a staff member will make you feel like your an OLD FRIEND.
I have stayed NEXT DOOR at the Oyster BOX hotel....NO comparison !!!! The staff here OUTSHINES the Oyster BOX staff BY 10 fold.

If your decision is ..... Beverly Hill or Oyster Box ..... Pick the Beverly Hill YOU will not be disappointed.....and it is half the price...for the same view.

AGAIN....the staff was GREAT.....BUT I can see why.....The GM is Flamboyant and very personable he always greets you with a warm smile....and a " How is everything ....What can we do for you today " It all starts from the TOP......I would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Poppbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon .

Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We traveled as a couple to the STAR of Umhlanga the Beverly Hills Hotel in February. Our stay was delightful in a comfortable room on the 6th floor with stunning views of the lovely Indian Ocean. All members of the staff were so friendly and helpful; a total asset to your hotel! The breakfasts were excellent; the Eggs Benedict are not to be missed! We also dined at the restaurants in the hotel and found them very satisfying. The piano player and singer totally added to our experience at the Sugar Club restaurant.A swim in the pool was so relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel and will return soon I hope!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room which was a bit small but comfortable on the 6th floor. Next time I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBird070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .
We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We hope to see you back very soon .

Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Please repaint the hotel into a earthcolour. That will make the hotel to look stunning, attractive and calm.
the colour you have on your exterior gives a casino effect. the hotel does not have a casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Millicent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

All the great hotels in world are pink, although the Beverly Hills was painted white when she first opened.

We hope to see you back soon
Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing