We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Wedding”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although the management did mention that they don't normally do weddings, our uncle and his beautiful bride were very lucky to convince the hotel to host both the wedding ceremony and reception.

We did not have the good fortune of staying at the hotel, but I am writing this review just to acknowledge; the the beauty of the hotel and its surroundings, the excellent service offered by the hotel staff, and to make a special mention of the food; the menu was simply out of this world!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We are glad you enjoyed stunning location and your family wedding. We agree the hotel is very special!
We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We try to get there 4 times a year for about 4 to 6 nights. For anyone in South Africa it is a must. For people from elsewhere this is the most beautiful hotel to unwind in in our country. The service and hotel staff are of the best 5 star quality I have come across in the world.

Room Tip: All the normal rooms are the same with a magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deszabo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our friendly intuitive service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

x-chef Tony really was outstanding made our dinner experience some thing out of master chef,his attention to flavor and detail of presentation was part of his culinary passion,a very big thank you. what a lovely setting.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good day

Thank you for choosing the Beverly Hills for your wife's birthday. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome to back in the not too distant future

kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A lot of money for location and reputation that frankly just does not deliver. Other than check in, service was abysmal. Three meals (lunch dinner and breakfast) were worse than abysmal-atrocious service, mediocre food, rip off prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay. Constructive comments are most welcome as they assist us in improving standards. I will make contact with you personally to discuss further in detail .

Assuring you of my best attention at all times

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We spent the evening and woke up to an amazing sunrise. The hotel is on the beach and occupies a prominent position on the sought after promenade. Breakfast was a total feast and there was even champagne on ice! The rooms have a wide view over the ocean and are spacious.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andrew_Durban460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves, in particular our great views and intuitive service . We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I can safely say that this gem of a hotel situated on the beach front in Umhlanga is a difficult one to beat. Positioned along one of the most beautiful beaches and beachfront walkway or jogging route for joggers
like me! The staff are outstanding and consistently outstanding! I visit twice monthly. I give tremendous accolades to the GM John de Canha whom has the respect from each staff member. He is not afraid of clearing plates, pouring wine or carrying luggage. When visiting this seaside town this hotel will make memories for you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves, in particular our intuitive service . We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I celebrated my recent birthday @ the Beverly Hills Hotel and everything was really excellent, the superb breakfast buffet is full of choices, everything is high quality and super fresh. The facilities are very clean and the service is very kind, individual, efficient & professional. You will not be able to find a better hotel to stay @ the beach in and around Durban.

Room Tip: Choose a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueDolphinTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and the hotel to celebrate your birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,010 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
1.1 mi away
Garden Court Umhlanga
Garden Court Umhlanga
#6 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga Rid...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road | uMhlanga , Kwa zulu-Natal , south Africa, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £240 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing