We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience, not amazing”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience, not amazing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel facilities and location are excellent. We have previously stayed at this hotel in 2012 and the service then was amazing. It has taken a noticeable dip and the attention to detail has dropped over time and therefore the value for money is not longer what is was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service, and constructive comments assist us enormously in this regard.

I am sorry you felt your experience was not as good as your previous visit. I would love to hear details from you. May I ask you to please send me your contact details.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    192
    51
    29
    13
See reviews for
247
459
33
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a lovely meal there at a private function. Although it was a set menu, it was very enjoyable. Attentive staff, lovely feel from the moment you walk in. Beautiful flower arrangements and what I noticed first thing on entering the beautiful smell - scented candles everywhere! Will definitely like to come and eat at their restaurant again. Pool area looked lovely for those summer evening cocktails.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We agree with you - we have a beautiful location - we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel overlooking the sea in the umhlanga rocks area. Great restaurant and breakfast area, where you can dine overlooking the ocean - a pleasant way to start the day. There was a mix up in my booking but this was sorted quickly and efficiently. Good service, good decor, good location. Will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MandyIan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We agree with you - we have a beautiful location - we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff are really friendly and will asist in any way possible. The Hotel exceedsits 5 star quality service and the atmosphere is great for relaxing. The rooms are beautiful and always kept clean with crisp linen. This is a great place to go out as a couple or even with a family. Renelle

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank rennie5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Any other hospitality venue in KwaZulu Natal would be hard pressed to impress more than the iconic Beverly Hills Hotel in Umhlanga when it comes to service delivery of a luxury breakfast at the Sugar Club and spilling out onto the Ocean Terrace overlooking the pristine pool and the glittering sea front dotted with rocky pools, gentle waves and a meandering promenade which curls around the famed 21M high Umhlanga lighthouse.

The standard of the breakfast offerrings is high and ample displays allow for a quick power breakfast or alternatively a leisurely paced breakfast to savour multi course dishes commencing with a refreshing glass of bubbles, if so desired, and then onto tropical fruits displayed with panache in large silver bowls, a multitude of cereals, nuts, seeds and a magnificent dripping honeycomb will also beckon. Pastries and breads spill over in basket displays that are both tasteful and tempting. Families with children will also be spoilt for choice. The hot food stations are equally lavish with an on site chef preparing eggs in a multitude of plated options. For the more focussed diner there are also a la carte options too.

The breakfasts should be timely affairs not to be rushed. The service is attentative and impeccable and there is absolutely no excuse not to drink in the adequate sunshine on the Terrace and enjoy the play of the brave little birds also vying for a piece of the action too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Yegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Yegas

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and our beautiful setting. We agree with you, our location is breath taking.

We pride ourselves in professional intuitive service and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fourways, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Beverley Hills hotel from 30 July to 03 August 2014. Our stay was part of the @Beyond/Tsogo Sun Majestic Views and Pristine Wilderness offer. The check in process was very clinical and the clerk was unfriendly, demanding to make a copy of my passport and when I told her that I have never been asked to do so at any Tsogo Sun hotel she rudely asked me if I was a foreigner. When I replied that I was a South African she became even more abrupt. The balcony door to our room could not lock and a staff member had to come and fit a lock while we were in the room. On the second day of our stay we were locked out of our room as our booking was messed up. There was no apology offered. The staff in the two restaurants, the concierge and the cleaning staff very very friendly and helpful. The food menus can be better, especially if you compare it to what is on offer in the restaurants situated in the vicinity of the hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean and the view over the ocean was fantastic. The carpets inside and outside the room needed a good shampoo, it looked tacky for a five star establishment. Except for the unwelcome attitude of the front desk clerk we enjoyed our stay. The hotel served as a good base from which to explore the surrounding area which is very vibrant at night.

Room Tip: Cant really choose a room because the hotel allocates the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all constructive comments and your comments regarding our reception and the carpets in the bedrooms have been noted.

We are delighted you enjoyed the setting and do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Kind regards
John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Beverly Hills for a spectacular stay from 26-28 July in the top floor suite of your hotel. The staff went out of their way to give us a fabulous weekend, from the amazing sweet treats, the thoughtful birthday cake left in our room to the wonderful Mangwanani massage we experienced in the room. A big thank you to Paul Gibson, Siya and Edwin who made our stay so memorable. An even bigger thank you to John de Canha for giving us a honeymoon to remember.


Mr & Mrs Naidoo

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joey_The_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The only way we can live up to our Beverly Hills promise, is through feedback from our guests.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your kind words with the team as we always strive to provide our guests with a distinctive service and a memorable stay. Your words were visibly heartening to all as it gives the team tremendous recognition for their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Kind regards

John de Canha
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing