We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed for two nights on business. The hotel has a wonderful location facing the sea and on my second day, after giving my talk, I walked the 5k promenade in front of the hotel, which is attractively landscaped.

What impressed me most about the hotel was the quality of the service. During my time I asked for an ironing board + iron, a plug adapter, a radiator (middle of winter...) and a comb. All came within five minutes of asking, which I reckon is pretty unheard of in hotels. Benson on the front door and Sandaya at the pool, were super helpful and chatty, and Roger at breakfast sneaked me in after I'd given my talk, as I had to be up too early to eat breakfast at the usual time. The pool area is relaxing and there are even tiny bottles of factor 30 suncream provided, which is a lovely touch.

The menu in the café didn't appeal, but there are a handful of cafés 5 mins walk from the hotel and in the evening, my colleagues and I had a wonderful meal at Isle Maurice which is one minute's walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We are glad you enjoyed stunning location and we agree the hotel is a very special place!
We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent the last week at this hotel, good location in umhlanga rocks, on the beach front. Short walk from the swimming area, close to the gateway mall. Room service and pool service was excellent. The hotel was clean well maintained and the staff where friendly, helpful and went beyond the call of duty. Special mention for the guys at the concierge,top notch service. I stayed in the cabana on the lobby floor which was perfect for myself and the family, my parents stayed on the top floor, spectacular views. If you staying in umhlanga this is the place. Spa services are also available in room or at the pool

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank RayaanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We are glad you enjoyed stunning location and we agree the hotel is a very special place!
We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located on the beach. The breakfasts are amazing and the restaurant is also great. There is a little mini private beach, which has Beverly Hills loungers which is really lovely - as are the fruit kebabs you are served on the beach.
Great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LilaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service.

We are glad you enjoyed stunning location and we agree the hotel is a very special place!
We hope to see you back very soon.

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel facilities and location are excellent. We have previously stayed at this hotel in 2012 and the service then was amazing. It has taken a noticeable dip and the attention to detail has dropped over time and therefore the value for money is not longer what is was.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service, and constructive comments assist us enormously in this regard.

I am sorry you felt your experience was not as good as your previous visit. I would love to hear details from you. May I ask you to please send me your contact details.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a lovely meal there at a private function. Although it was a set menu, it was very enjoyable. Attentive staff, lovely feel from the moment you walk in. Beautiful flower arrangements and what I noticed first thing on entering the beautiful smell - scented candles everywhere! Will definitely like to come and eat at their restaurant again. Pool area looked lovely for those summer evening cocktails.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We agree with you - we have a beautiful location - we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful hotel overlooking the sea in the umhlanga rocks area. Great restaurant and breakfast area, where you can dine overlooking the ocean - a pleasant way to start the day. There was a mix up in my booking but this was sorted quickly and efficiently. Good service, good decor, good location. Will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank MandyIan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We agree with you - we have a beautiful location - we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff are really friendly and will asist in any way possible. The Hotel exceedsits 5 star quality service and the atmosphere is great for relaxing. The rooms are beautiful and always kept clean with crisp linen. This is a great place to go out as a couple or even with a family. Renelle

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank rennie5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to offer intuitive professional service.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriot Durban Umhl...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £194 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing