We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but some of the rooms are looking a bit tired!”
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beverly Hills
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but some of the rooms are looking a bit tired!”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I have stayed at the Beverly Hills Hotel on a few occasions. The location is fabulous; with easy access to the beach.

The staff are great and the service is excellent.

Breakfast is also excellent, and the food and service in the restaurants are both very good.

Since my first stay I have noticed that some of the rooms are looking a bit tired - which to me is a 'negative' seeing as the room rates are not exactly cheap! However, unlike some other top hotels in South Africa they do not charge for garments to be ironed.

The gym is well equipped.

In conclusion it is a lovely experience staying at this hotel, but some of the rooms need a facelift; and from my most recent stay there I would not describe the Bevery Hills as particularly good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are constantly striving to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    191
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
242
451
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2010

It doesn't often happen that I arrive at a Hotel and already plan a return trip! The Hotel itself is beautifully located and the Umhlange Promonade which is safe, well lit at night and awsum views of the Ocean! The Rooms are luxuriously appointed with direct seaview. The Swimming pool is large. clean and refreshing on a hot day in the sun. The food served at the Restaurants are very nice and enjoyed every meal. The Gym was spacious and well equipted for a holiday workout. Room service can be slow at times and even needed to follow up on orders! The Staff are freindly curtious and kind, always ready to serve with a smile! Hightly recommended get away to relax.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feelingr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

After 10 days of safari and adventure, we were ready for a few relaxing days at the beach. This hotel is very accomodating - there was a snafu with our adjoining rooms and the staff fixed it in short order. Basically, the attitude of the staff is "how can we help you." There is not much of a beach in front of the hotel but who needs it when you have comfortable chaises looking out at the ocean with staff who comes to clean your sunglasses, brings cool towels and all the food and drinks you want. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and the breakfast on the patio is wonderful. The atmosphere is refined without being stuffy. This hotel is the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards the Beverly Hills team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I arrived at the hotel in the morning after a long trip to Durban. I was greeted warmly by the staff immediately. My room wasn't ready however, so they invited me to the patio overlooking the sea and the pool for some drinks. I wanted an iced coffee - which they had never made before, but they happily indulged me and made me a perfect glass. My room was ready in no time and was immediately impressed by the view and all the amenities: a welcome fruit platter, cookies, wine, and the Nespresso machine. The spa service is great - give the massage a go! The room service - although the menu was limited - arrived quickly and the food was satisfying. By my second morning, the staff had memorised my typical breakfast order and offered it to me immediately. This is a great place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I stayed for two nights in this hotel.
Rooms: the rooms have ocean view but they are very small and there were ants in the complementary fruit plate during all our staying.
The swimming pool was not clean enough.
The beach near the hotel was not nice.
Food: We have lunch which was not good, Breakfast excellent and we have dinner once which was very good.
Staff very friendly and the gym even though is small has good equipment.
The hotel looks a bit shabby.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panther59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The whales in front of the hotel have offer magnificent sightings this time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. warm regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We stayed at the Beverly Hills Hotel in Umhlanga Rock, South Africa for 2 nights - I was returning to Durban for the first time since 1978. The hotel was everything you could expect from a 5 star - in particular the service was excellent. All the staff and in particular the concierge couldn't do enough for you. Thanks to them we were able to get a booking at the fabulous La Colombe, in Constatia (see seperate review). Throughout though the staff made this a very enjoyable stay.

The food in the restaurant was good and drinks reasonally priced. Our room was very nice, with a little balcony - all rooms are sea facing. We enjoyed our stay there very much indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSteve2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards The beverly Hills family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Small but very cosy rooms. All rooms are sea facing, so nice to fall asleep with the sound of the waves ! Gym is small (2 treadmills only) but equipments are very new (Technogym). As everywhere is South Africa (it seems), service is unconsistent, some day no newspapers, no toiletries refill, ... Nespresso coffee machine in the room. A casual bar and 2 nice restaurants (Indian and also French / Mauritius) just accross the street.
Good business hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We welcome all opportunities to grow and improve our service, and are constantly striving to exceed guest expectations. we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards The Beverly Hills family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Property: Beverly Hills
Address: 1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing