We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Travelling with infants is difficult and when a hotel is willing to help at the last minute, it lifts your spirits. We arrived really early in Durban so I phoned for an early check in, we where 15 minutes away. They said no problem, what a relief. Check in was seamless, the rooms all have an amazing view of the ocean. The activities around the pool for the family meant we didn't have to leave the resort for entertainment for the kids. We really got to relax!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a family of 12 stay here from infants to adults and it was a perfect spot! There's so much to do and see! Their centrally located to everything. And the staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougnbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

i have been to the sands before and it was brilliant, now sad to say they have turned it into a office enviroment the rooms have no warmth the pool area has plastic grass when you order a drink it comes in a plastic cup the whole atmosphere is one of a corprate enviroment and will not see me again.i have to compliment the staff as they are great but it just does not work.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I go to this hotel almost every year i'm due to go back in Feb 2013 the staff are grate the pools are clean
the entertainment for children is wonderful the food is lovely the only thing is i am wondering what it is like after it has been refurbish, is the arcade for the kids still there? if you have been this year can you please let me no what it looks like :) the beach is right outside the hotel the staff are lovely and really friendly, This is one lovely place to be all year round, Feb is very very hot i hope this helps anyone who wishes to go there :). grate places to go are as follows: the natal sharks board in umhalanga, ushaka marine world in Durban and Gateway shopping center for shopping, cinema, arcades and go carting these are MUST GOES if you travel to South Africa with children or with out also you can go deep sea fishing easy to book near the beach we did that last year it way excellent and i will do it again. Have a lovely holiday :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A beautiful resort from check in to check out just relaxed and lotsa fun things to do. Check in was fabulous kids enjoyed the activity packs they received and popcorn. The hotel was refurbished and we were the first to enjoy the opening of the resort. Wonderful resort to unwind and chill out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIA786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Perfect local holiday away from a busy urban life to a relaxing and beautiful getaway only 6 hrs from Johannesburg.
Never dissapointed with weather because of the slight humidity but great for beach days.
Malls in close proximity for night entertainment, shopping and food for both adults and kids.
There are boat cruises nearby. U Shaka Marine World for waterslides and marine life. Then you can also visit the famous Moses Mobhida Stadium where the world cup soccer was held. One can go up a cable car to take in the awesome views from above or simply try the bungy swing if you dare.

Room Tip: choose rooms above adults pool for privacy and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

the umlanga sends resort is amazing everything is nice rooms r large lots of entertainment alll is great great value i am there almost every year the only down side is there is no hallal food in the resort so edvice get the outside hotels numbers the deliver :)

Room Tip: take the 6 sleeper its the best you wont regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shezoo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
189.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £23 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing