We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of uMhlanga Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Umhlanga Sands is a very nice resort in a very safe area. The romms were very good and the front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating, especially as we needed to upgrade. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The resort was well placed to explore KZN and is close to King Shaka airport.
The only downside of the resort was the lack of full kitchen facilities in the rooms, with their being no hob or oven.

Room Tip: Go high, for the views and less noise from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    192
    55
    16
    14
See reviews for
341
171
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just stayed over for one night but loved it stunning we have been all over the world and this resort is up there with the best. Will be back with my whole FAMILY they will just have a ball so much for all the kids to do with pool entertaiment and fun stuff for toddlers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vannabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights whilst on part business and part holiday with my wife. Room excellent and well appointed. Fairly small but more than sufficient. The view was amazing as is the sound of the waves rolling in. The resort has excellent shops and restaurants downstairs with a selection of coffee and family eateries. It has more than enough entertainment in the resort with volley ball, pools, kids games, soccer and a number of family activities. . The local town is within walking distance so very convenient.

Room Tip: If you have a vehicle pay the additional charge and park underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The new refurbised Resort is wonderfull for a family stay. The fact taht you can sleep 4 adults in one room, but private, is good. The small kitchen is great to have in the room. All the rooms have views, will stay there again.

Room Tip: I love the higher floors, less noise and wonderfull views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALewisPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We have owned timeshare at this hotel for nearly 20 years, but rarely used it as we emigrated to Australia. This year we decided that the July school holidays would be at the Sands and we were not disappointed. I'm always wary of security when I holiday anywhere in south africa - but at the Sands in fact throughout the whole of Uhhlanga there was absolutely no need for concern and each morning my husband and I walked along the beachfront from the lighthouse to the reserve.
The kids were down at the pool most days and with access to the beach from the hotel so easy they had a great time.
We rarely ate at the hotel because there are so many great little restaurants and bars in the umhlanga cafe strip about a km up the road but we did try that spur for dinner one evening and it was a good evening .
Entertainment at the Sands was the usual volley ball, games around the pool and a couple of the evenings there was a bring & braai type arrangement (we think the hotel should have provided salads and rolls rather than just the braai and then it becomes expensive to go to the Spur for accompanyments)
If I have a gripe - it's that the hotel does not offer free WiFi - you can buy a voucher for R50 which lasts a day - but it's not secure and for a hotel group like Southern Suns , it was really surprising that throughout the hotel you has to pay, even inhotspots)
Needless to say - we had a great holiday and were very sorry to leave and rather than take another 17 years to return - next tine will definitely be alot sooner

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicnac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

An outstanding location satisfying every need and want - the refurbished Lifestyle Resort is delightful, well managed, secure and energised by staff who really do care

Room Tip: Higher floors offer more expansive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelFranschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Right on the beach, can't ask for more. Enough to keep you busy around Umhlanga. especially if all you want to do is relax on the beach. Gateway shopping centre isn't far either, if you want a wide variety of places to eat out. Hotel staff were more than helpful. Hotel itself is what you would expect for the rating it has.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTourist2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing