We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umhlanga Sands is the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Umhlanga Sands is the Best”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

It is an absolute pleasure to go to Umhlanga Sands. Great activities and entertainment and friendly service! A definite thumbs up to the Entertainment Team for their upbeat, enthusiastic and professional attitude towards the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    219
    60
    19
    19
See reviews for
408
196
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just spent five wonderful days at Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Resort. From arrival to departure it has been a pleasure to be there. The staff members go out of their way to connect with all their guests and to ensure that everybody is having the time of their lives. The customer care was therefore absolutely out of this world! The accommodation was also superb and clean and the staff members excellent in their servicing of the rooms. This is absolute value for money and the best vicinity in South Africa to relax and to forget about the rat race. Excellent, excellent - keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in different rooms - all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

From check in to check out, this resort is fun to stay at. You can be involved in everyday activities as much or little as you choose. Fantastic friendly staff. Cleanest resort we have stayed in , rooms are cleaned everyday and to a high standard. No wonder we come for five weeks every year. Thanks Sands for a wonderful and restful stay. Beautiful location to top off.

Room Tip: Any room is great as all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

M family and I stayed here this weekend. The welcome was a good check inn was quick and we. It our room immediately the kids were nicely entertained with the friendly guys at the entrance and with popcorn the room was big considering it was a four sleeper but I can't understand why there is no STOVE even a two plate would do buying food everyday was pricey the view was breathtaking the guys at the pool area were helpful and friendly ok let's get to the cpsecurity we went out Sunday morning with our door locked and when we get ack at 7pm our room door was open and lights on what a scare we got in and phoned reception duty manager came in and spoke to us we received a call from them on Monday to explain what happen but upto now we haven't been contacted with re our stole iPad so people our there when you booking in be careful things re not as good as they advertise about security we were careful but they were not and that's the reason they not trying to sort it out or get back to us maybe a free week at the resort will be good .please consider putting a stove as there is a kitchenette thank you

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have for some time been looking for a family resort that takes care of our kids needs whilst we can sit back and truly relax for the time spent on holiday. This was the reason we chose to try Umhlanga Sands. Well - we certainly where not disappointed and the resort lived up to everything we expected.

We had read the reviews complaining about the family orientation, and this is what attracted us here. Within 2 days our boys aged 16 and 8 had made a handful of friends, and spent days and evenings out as a bunch of kids having fun. The resort is safe enough to allow them freedom of the resort (so to speak) and activities planned by the resort kept them busy. The 2 restaurants catered to there dietary preferences and on the way home, both boys commented that it was simply the best holiday they6 have ever been on.

As an adult, we had time to ourselves, and on the occasion where we planned family activities (shops, lunch and/or sight seeing) the holiday was exactly what we had planned. The outside pool area was relaxing and serviced by one of the restaurants. Please, don't expect 5 star cuisine at this resort, as the food is geared towards family. Service at times was slow, and we where fortunate enough to find a waiter who looked after us for 4 days. He was simply fantastic, and made our relaxation perfect. The bar (Coco's) is not really an adult space, and we felt that this could be changed to allow for a more adult area / dining experience. The room with a bar was used more as a utility space for shows etc.

The room we booked was spacious as we had upgraded (thankfully) to the 6 sleeper unit, which has two separate bedrooms and bathrooms. As a family of 4, we could not have lived comfortably in the smaller 4 sleeper unit. If you have very young children (under 2 years) then the 4 sleeper may work well, but for older kids, book the bigger unit. The rooms where serviced daily and the towels where refreshed daily, which was a nice touch. The pool towels where also refreshed daily and as a beach resort - this is a blessing! The only challenge we had with the room is the material shower curtain in the main bath. We understand having a bath, but a better solution for keeping the water in should be found.

Parking in the main parking lot is a problem. The security should keep track of how full the parking area is better, and direct guests to the more than ample second parking lot. With a 4x4 some of the parking bays are very tight.

The resort staff where all very friendly and helpful. We could not complain about any of the resort staff and take our hats off to the ones that keep the kids entertained.

Would I go back. Definitely. If the resort improves their food service and food variety, I would rate this resort 5, but these small things allow me to only score it a well deserved four.

Room Tip: Choose the 6 sleeper unit as it has separate bedrooms and bathrooms. We had a 16th floor unit, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Possible the best hotel in the greater Durban / North Coast coastal area of South Africa for a Family Holiday . Children from say 2 to 12 and then teenager's are well catered for with a variety of entertaining programs . Well situated in a prime spot in Umhlanga with acess to the beach by walking a few steps . Great value for money as well with good 2 Restaurants on the hotel , with good food / service . We own timeshare at US and return almost every year and never fail to be happy with our choice .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I stay in Umhlanga very frequently, and decided to stay here last week with my family.

The staff in the hotel are grossly incompetent. Our original room was given away, so we had a nice upgrade. The next morning, the duty manager called and told me that they need the room, and we would need to move. We spent the greater part of the morning repacking and unpacking again. The hotel staff dumped our clothes into bags and moved the bags between rooms.
There is a lack of security around the astro turf area. I had an unfortunate incident when another parent assualted my 11 year old boy.

On the seond last day, one of the staff cleaned out my room, taking my kids toys, my kids books and all the food in the fridge. All the manager gave was an apology!!!

Rather consider another hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,818 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
189.5 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing