We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Commited Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
uMhlanga Sands Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
“Customer Commited Resort”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Umhlanga Sands go out or their way to make their customers feel King! Excellent Resort with lots of amenities. Excellent location. This Resort comes with a very high recommendation as a must stay/experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Johann777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    208
    57
    18
    17
See reviews for
380
187
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been going to Umhlanga Sands for many years and have seen many changes, this time the Sands has hit the jackpot. The units are beautifully furbished, the gardens are beautiful and the entertainment area is great. The staff are very friendly and eager to please. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Beatrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We just love the Umhlanga Sands.
Meresh is amazing and we would not go there if he was not there.
Busi is also great.
The entertainment was stunning, and the Spur was outstanding.
Seelum was also wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is Beautiful,location perfect and Stunning, but if you don't mind staying awake the hole night. I have been in a noisy hotel in Deli, but this one takes the cake. It must be a plumbing problem because the noise the follows for other rooms, flashing toilets,opening taps ext, wakes everybody up even if you a sound sleeper. I was in room 620, staying for 3 nights. I would not recommend this hotel. It's like having a Rolls Royce, and when driving in it,you can't hear the other person talk. If you hate peaceful sleep, stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70willem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband & I had a five night one bed rental self-catering apartment in September 2013 unfortunately coinciding with local holidays but the only period available to fit our holiday schedule. The kitchenette was limited but due to the proximity to town no great problem as everything was in easy walking distance.Situated on the fifth floor with the fantastic view, we were directly overlooking the main pool where childrens activities took place each day but being on the fifth floor meant we were not disturbed.We were fortunate in that our room was serviced whilst we were out walking along the beach each day taking advantage of the access provided by the well maintained pathway.

Room Tip: Higher floors have THE most fantastic views & also ensure a quiet life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granny4144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent location, within walking distance to town and some very good restaurants so no car needed if you fly in and a regular shuttle from the airport for R50 which will drop and collect you at the resort. A slightly heated pool for adults only which is really great if you don't have children.
Very relaxing atmosphere, staff very friendly and helpful management visible.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Beautiful resort, location and views stunning. Awful service from the restaurant on site & we had to beg for our room to be serviced (4pm finally). Pool service was questionable, billed to my room only for the waiter to knock on my door at 9pm that night asking for cash. Fortunately I opened the door & not my 83yr mother who would have been confused & frightened. It was as if we didn't exist in the system. Being a Canadian visitor, I was very disappointed,this resort has the potential to be world-class!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
190.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,755 reviews
190.2 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
190.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
189.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
189.5 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
189.5 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Property: uMhlanga Sands Resort
Address: 44 Lagoon Drive | Myezo Park, Umhlanga Rocks 5099, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing